Revit Structure

Reply
Active Member
smuhic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-08-2006
Message 1 of 7 (316 Views)

Revit to ETABS and back

316 Views, 6 Replies
12-08-2006 01:35 AM
when clicking Send model to ETABS command i get a message
all tracked changes will now be cleared

and all my changes are then cleared, so i cant export the new model i made
how can this be avoided?

second issue is when updating/exporting my model from ETABS
all my structural elements were steel, when i updated the model from ETABS the material was changed to concrete, so i tried to import the file as a new structue to Revit and the same problem occured. so all my analisys was for nothing i cant get the structure back to Revit.

Is this an ongoing issue or am i doing something wrong?

thanks
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 2 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: Revit to ETABS and back

12-08-2006 05:32 AM in reply to: smuhic
A couple of questions:

What version of Revit are you using?
What version of Etabs are you using?
What version of the Revit-Etabs link are you using?

Are you using any custom content, or non US content?
Have you modified any of the content files?

Most of the analysis links use some kind of text file to translate between Revit and the Analysis package, at least for Steel shapes. If you've modified the names of the shapes in Revit, it can mess with the link.

When you say "when i updated the model from ETABS the material was changed to concrete" At what point did the members become concrete? When you brought the structure into ETABS from Revit, or when it went from ETABS to Revit?

More information would be helpful in figuring out the problem.

Joe
Active Member
smuhic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-08-2006
Message 3 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: Revit to ETABS and back

12-08-2006 06:44 AM in reply to: smuhic
thanks joe for your first reply
the version of Revit is 3.0
version of ETABS is 9.1.0
version of the link is CSiXRevit V9.0.9/1

the steel profiles are Euro from Revit (Structural international Extra -EURO steel ...)
didnt modify anything, all the profiles are default

i made a steel structure in Revit, exported it to ETABS - here everything was ok

after the analysis in ETABS (where all members were steel) i updated the structure in Revit with the command Update model from ETABS, but instead of getting the updated steel structure with the steel profiles (I shape) that changed, i got a concrete structure with members that have a rectangular cross section

what about the message All tracked changes will now be cleared when i try to export a structure from Revit to ETABS (and i really dont want the changes to be cleared, thats why i made the changes in the first place),
how can i overcom this?
*David Bartliff
Message 4 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: Revit to ETABS and back

12-08-2006 08:22 AM in reply to: smuhic
After updating a model from one of the analysis/design partners, you can use
the track changes toolbar, (that is off by default I think), to highlight
members that have changed in the import, or been added etc - presumably
using some sort of status flag in the object and this persists. I understood
that the message on export simply referred to the fact that the status flag
would now be reset, so you would only track changes between the current
state and the next import. It should not be actually undoing changes you
have made in Revit.

All this is based on my experience as a developer of such links, (not for
ETABS, so I can't help you with specifics there).
As Joe said, there is probably a problem with the mapping of the section
types, or possibly the steel grades.

Regards
David


wrote in message news:5419304@discussion.autodesk.com...
thanks joe for your first reply
the version of Revit is 3.0
version of ETABS is 9.1.0
version of the link is CSiXRevit V9.0.9/1

the steel profiles are Euro from Revit (Structural international Extra -EURO
steel ...)
didnt modify anything, all the profiles are default

i made a steel structure in Revit, exported it to ETABS - here everything
was ok

after the analysis in ETABS (where all members were steel) i updated the
structure in Revit with the command Update model from ETABS, but instead of
getting the updated steel structure with the steel profiles (I shape) that
changed, i got a concrete structure with members that have a rectangular
cross section

what about the message All tracked changes will now be cleared when i try to
export a structure from Revit to ETABS (and i really dont want the changes
to be cleared, thats why i made the changes in the first place),
how can i overcom this?
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 5 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: Revit to ETABS and back

12-08-2006 08:47 AM in reply to: smuhic
Thanks for the additional information.

Have you contacted CSI directly? CSI are the ones responsible for the link. I have found their support people helpful.

How big is your file? Can you reproduce the problem in a smaller file? If the files are not too big, you could post them in customer files for people to look at.

Joe
Active Member
smuhic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-08-2006
Message 6 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: Revit to ETABS and back

12-08-2006 09:03 AM in reply to: smuhic
there are 2 different problems im facing
1. when exporting from revit to ETABS
the first time i export a new model everything is exported, the next time i try to export (when ive made changes to the model in Revit) i get the message ''All tracked changes will now be cleared''
none of the changes i make in Revit after i export the model once are exported when i try to export the model again
ofcourse all the changes i make in revit i want to export to ETABS, but Revit wont let me (as mentioned i get a warning message All tracked changes will now be cleared)

2. when updating or importing from ETABS to Revit
i had a steel structure in ETABS and tried to update my model in Revit. after the updating process i expected to see a steel structure in Revit, sadly this was not the case, all members were concrete
i dont know if im doing something wrong or is this an issue with importing from ETABS
Active Member
smuhic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-08-2006
Message 7 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: Revit to ETABS and back

12-08-2006 09:09 AM in reply to: smuhic
ill try to contact CSi too, but i have to do that through a mediator
thats why i tried here first maybe someone already had a similar experience
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.