Revit Structure

Reply
Valued Contributor
kirbybeegles4894
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 1 of 7 (326 Views)
Accepted Solution

Navisworks Exporter

326 Views, 6 Replies
01-17-2012 12:33 PM

I'm exporting a REVIT model into Navis for some clash detection.  I'd normally just do it in REVIT, but I need the clearance feature of NAVIS in this case.  The issue is that when I export using the add-in within REVIT, it groups all of the elements by level, not by type.  I.E. I need to run clash between beams and walls, columns and walls, etc.  Anyone know if there is a setting that will allow us to do this?

 

The workaround I'm using is that I created seperate 3D views for every type of item I want to run clash on, and then export each of those views as seperate navis files.  This is fine, but certainly seems like it shouldn't take this many steps to accomplish what I need to do.  Thanks.

This is something we hope to improve in future releases.

 

In the meantime the easier way to do this is to create Search Sets in Navisworks and run clash tests between these.

 

To create a search set create a search with the criteria (Element > Category > = >"....") and then run the search. In the Sets window, right click then Save Current Search.

 

Let us know if this resolves the issue for you.

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 2 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: Navisworks Exporter

01-18-2012 06:28 AM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

This is something we hope to improve in future releases.

 

In the meantime the easier way to do this is to create Search Sets in Navisworks and run clash tests between these.

 

To create a search set create a search with the criteria (Element > Category > = >"....") and then run the search. In the Sets window, right click then Save Current Search.

 

Let us know if this resolves the issue for you.


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


Valued Contributor
kirbybeegles4894
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 3 of 7 (314 Views)

Re: Navisworks Exporter

01-18-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: lee.mullin

I think that the search sets will probably work out OK.  One question: do they update automatically if you add new items to the model, or do you have to run the search again for each category and re-save the selection set?

Product Support
lee.mullin
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 4 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Navisworks Exporter

01-19-2012 05:04 AM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

Unlike Selection Sets which are static and need to be updated, Search Sets are interactive so when you update or append new files the Search Sets contain new items that match that search.


Lee Mullin
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk Ltd.


New Member
BADERALMULLA
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Message 5 of 7 (135 Views)

Re: Navisworks Exporter

07-31-2012 03:27 AM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

While opening a revit file in naviswork simulate some of the arhitecture fails to load, is there any corrections in the visibility graphics that have to be edited to view them in NAVISWORK. Also when i open a file that is linked with other files, the other linked files donot open, just the base file that i have opened. Is there any solution to the problems i am facing??

 

Thanks

 

John...

Valued Contributor
kirbybeegles4894
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 6 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: Navisworks Exporter

07-31-2012 07:10 AM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

Are you opening Navis, then appending the REVIT file, or are you exporting to Navis from REVIT?

New Member
BADERALMULLA
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Message 7 of 7 (120 Views)

Re: Navisworks Exporter

07-31-2012 11:30 PM in reply to: kirbybeegles4894

II usually Open Naviswork and then open the revit file. I was under the impression that there was no need for a naviswork exporter for REVIT 2013. the only exporter i had seen was for REVIT 2012 , will it be applicable for 2013 also???

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!