Revit Structure

Revit Structure

Reply
Mentor
CraigGorsuch
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Message 1 of 8 (2,168 Views)
Accepted Solution

Multiple column grids, same grid number

2168 Views, 7 Replies
01-20-2011 10:30 AM

Working on a radial grid, but the "concentric" grid lines are NOT circular, they are declinated by 6 degrees per segment

 

How do I make multiple golumn grids have the same grid number?  What workaround do I need?

Found a work-around

 

When editing the column grid number, right click and add Unicode characters, but leave those Unicode characters non-visible.

 

So, technically, Revit *is* using different column grid IDs, but for printing purposes, we only see the characters we want to.

 

Alumni
kathryn.langan
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 2 of 8 (2,107 Views)

Re: Multiple column grids, same grid number

01-28-2011 01:45 PM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

Unfortunately it's not possible to have multiple grids with the same number; they have to be unique. So you'll have to do some manual adjustment. You could turn off the display of grid bubbles and make your own bubble annotation symbol, and place that instead, or you could cover the automatic grid number with opaque text to show a different number. Another possibility would be to add a prefix or suffix to each number to make them slightly different.

 

If you would like to see this behavior changed I'd suggest providing comments and a business case as to why this is important to your firm at the Feedback Site.

 

I hope this helps!



Katie Langan
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
CraigGorsuch
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Message 3 of 8 (2,084 Views)

Re: Multiple column grids, same grid number

01-31-2011 08:43 AM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

Found a work-around

 

When editing the column grid number, right click and add Unicode characters, but leave those Unicode characters non-visible.

 

So, technically, Revit *is* using different column grid IDs, but for printing purposes, we only see the characters we want to.

 

Alumni
kathryn.langan
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 4 of 8 (2,055 Views)

Re: Multiple column grids, same grid number

02-01-2011 10:49 AM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

That's an interesting workaround - I've never seen it done that way. Thanks for posting with the reply!



Katie Langan
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
rnbhat
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Message 5 of 8 (2,032 Views)

Re: Multiple column grids, same grid number

02-03-2011 10:32 PM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

I tried it but I could not get the same options you have shown.

 

See the attached image.

 

I use Windows XP 32 bit OS, Revit 2011 Str. 32 bit.

 

 

Regards,
Raghavendra Bhat
rnbhat1@gmail.com
Alumni
kathryn.langan
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 6 of 8 (1,982 Views)

Re: Multiple column grids, same grid number

02-07-2011 01:06 PM in reply to: rnbhat

It's actually a Windows control and not specific to Revit. You'll see the right click option in Notepad or in other program text boxes: http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/lang_insert_unicode.m.... It looks like it may have to do with having multiple languages installed on your system, but it's not something I've ever really looked into.



Katie Langan
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
cr_gixxer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 7 of 8 (1,313 Views)

Re: Multiple column grids, same grid number

07-10-2012 03:34 PM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

so when I add the unicode, I can duplicate the grid number...but only once per unicode selection. Is there a way to create new uniccode "categories"

Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 8 of 8 (1,285 Views)

Re: Multiple column grids, same grid number

07-18-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

Since this has been bumped back to the top, I should metion that this is now possible in Revit 2013 with Multi-segment Grids.

 

Joe

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.