Revit Structure

Reply
Member
ch_alex
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 1 of 9 (380 Views)
Accepted Solution

Linking family types

380 Views, 8 Replies
12-06-2012 08:47 AM

Dear Autodesk!

 

Can I link family type parameter from nested family to host family as I can do it for dimensions and other data?

Why there is no "=" sign for family type?

 

Other question: How can I get the thickness of the angle I choose? Let say A2_N has thickness 1/2" and I want to read this parameter and use for bolt length. How can I do that?

 

Thanks,

 

Alex

If you can design your system so that it does not rely on the <Family Type...> Parameter Type, that would be best. If you can make it function so that the family angles are controlled parametrically in a single nested family, that would be best. An alternate, crude method would be to avoid this is to place an instance of each variant in place and control their visibility with Yes/No parameters.

 

If you must use the <Family Type...> Parameter, you'll have to use formula to convert the data to another linkable Type. Attached is a example that converts the setting to an Integer to control the appearance of the nested elements. (Revit 2012).

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,289
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 9 (375 Views)

Re: Linking family types

12-06-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: ch_alex
ch_alex wrote:

"Can I link family type parameter from nested family to host family as I can do it for dimensions and other data?

Why there is no "=" sign for family type?"


You cannot. If you care to elaborate on your desired workflow, perhaps an alternate solution can be found.

 


ch_alex wrote:

"Other question: How can I get the thickness of the angle I choose? Let say A2_N has thickness 1/2" and I want to read this parameter and use for bolt length. How can I do that?"


Some parameter values (depending on the units) can be read by means of Reporting Parameters. However, values derived from nested Families cannot drive any parameters in the host Family. It's a one-way street - parameters from the host can drive nested values but not vice-versa.

 

 

⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗
Welcome to the Autodesk forums, ch_alex!
Feel free to post any questions you may have! There are many experienced users here who generously contribute their time and effort to supporting
their peers. This is an open, peer-supported forum, so feel free to contribute any useful information or experiences to any of the topics you see here.
We hope you'll stick around a while and help strengthen the value of this community!
───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Be sure to review the Ground Rules, visit the FAQ Forum, and use the Search feature prior to posting a question, as it's likely been asked before.
⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
ch_alex
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 3 of 9 (363 Views)

Re: Linking family types

12-06-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thank you, CADastrophe,

 

To my first question.  I have a frame which consist from couple vertical, couple diagonal and couple horizontal angles. The angle sizes can be different, max 4 different angle types. Then this frame (family) is nested into host family where I arrayed this family. I have no problem with updating the angle sizes of the nested family in the host family. But when I load host into the project - I am able to access only host family parameters through the "Edit Type" and did not find the way to control nested family in the project environment.

Thanks for your reply,

 

Alex

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,289
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 9 (360 Views)

Re: Linking family types

12-06-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: ch_alex

What version of Revit are you using?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
ch_alex
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 5 of 9 (357 Views)

Re: Linking family types

12-06-2012 12:56 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

2012

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,289
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 9 (348 Views)

Re: Linking family types

12-06-2012 01:42 PM in reply to: ch_alex

If you can design your system so that it does not rely on the <Family Type...> Parameter Type, that would be best. If you can make it function so that the family angles are controlled parametrically in a single nested family, that would be best. An alternate, crude method would be to avoid this is to place an instance of each variant in place and control their visibility with Yes/No parameters.

 

If you must use the <Family Type...> Parameter, you'll have to use formula to convert the data to another linkable Type. Attached is a example that converts the setting to an Integer to control the appearance of the nested elements. (Revit 2012).

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
ch_alex
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 7 of 9 (346 Views)

Re: Linking family types

12-06-2012 01:53 PM in reply to: ch_alex

Thank you,

 

But unfortunately I did not open your file with 2012 Revit. Says that file was saved ina later version.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,289
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 9 (341 Views)

Re: Linking family types

12-06-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: ch_alex

I attached the wrong file - I edited my previous post and fixed the attachment...

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
ch_alex
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 9 of 9 (339 Views)

Re: Linking family types

12-06-2012 02:09 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

CADastrophe,

 

Thank you very much, I really appreciate that.

alex

Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.