Revit Structure

Revit Structure

Reply
*Expert Elite*
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 1 of 7 (591 Views)
Accepted Solution

Issue on one workstation with an rvt file, crashes when opening!

591 Views, 6 Replies
03-21-2012 04:10 AM

Hi there,

 

We have experienced an isolated issue on one of our workstations. Basically we have a 180mb rvt file that when i open on my machine i get the following pop ups while the file is opening...

 

Copied central Model > Close

Macro Security Alert > Tried both diasble and enable but doesnt seem to affect

Cannot find Central Model > Close

Unresolved references > Ignore

 

Apart from that the file opens ok, but just to be safe i got 6 others to open the file and confirm this. However, one user we have has an issue opening the model. When they open the file Revit simply crashes out around about the time it asks for where the referenced files are... Also the list of files it mentions in the reference is different to the list i get even though its the same model but on different machines.

 

The user that is also having the problem can open the model fine on another machine so this makes me think that something is set up wrong in terms of the Windows User Profile or Permissions?

 

Have any of you come across this?

 

One of our main users has logged onto the machine and they get the same issue... Also in the Journal file an exception is called as soon as the resolve reference file option is selected.

 

Could this be a red herring as it happens on other file > open options.

 

I have attached 2 Journal files from 2 users if anyone wants to take a look?


Regards,


Duncan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

Duncan Brannan Send DuncanBrannan82 a Private Message

FYI we have solved the issue.

 

The issue is related to a ~.snippet file in the VSTA install, as i understand, this is a temp file packaged in the installer and Deployment Image. If this file is missing it kills the loading of Revit Structure.

 

Unfortunately we dont replicate temporary files on our replication drive for deployment images which is why this error occured, however the error wasnt flagged when the install takes place silently so we werent aware of it.

 

My question is, why do you package temporary files in your packaging / deployment images as this causes issues for us deploying software if they are missing...

 

We have had this issue before with Thumbs.db, *.bak files and now files with a ~ in it. Is there anyway you can stop this from happening in future releases of software? Obviously we can turn on replication for temporary files but we really shouldnt have to replicate temporary files that shouldnt be there as part of the package.

 

Could you please feed this back?


Regards,

 

Duncan

Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 2 of 7 (587 Views)

Re: Issue on one workstation with an rvt file, crashes when opening!

03-21-2012 06:10 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Looks like you have a lot of add ons and extenstions installed.

 

Is it possible that this one workstation has a different combination of extras than your other ones?

 

You could attempt to rule out the add-ins by temporarily commenting out add-ins one-by-one.

If you rename the files in this folder (for example, rename them from "XXXX.addin" to "XXX.addin.old") you should temporarily unload each addin on startup.

 

Let us know how it goes. 

 

Joe 

*Expert Elite*
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 3 of 7 (584 Views)

Re: Issue on one workstation with an rvt file, crashes when opening!

03-21-2012 07:08 AM in reply to: Joe.Charpentier

Hi Joe,

 

Which folder would that be? From your post i cannot see where i should be looking? I will try your suggestion but the user has the same add-ins as anybody else within our Company. All installed in the same order.

 

Also the add-ons tend to be mainly Autodesk add-ins apart from one or 2 analysis plugins.

 

Do you know what the error could be?


Regards,

 

Duncan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

Duncan Brannan Send DuncanBrannan82 a Private Message
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 4 of 7 (582 Views)

Re: Issue on one workstation with an rvt file, crashes when opening!

03-21-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Oops, sorry:

The add-ins files live here:

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Revit\Addins\2012

 

Joe

*Expert Elite*
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 5 of 7 (577 Views)

Re: Issue on one workstation with an rvt file, crashes when opening!

03-21-2012 05:39 PM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

I will give this a try tomorrow to see if we can at least open the file but im not sure this will resolve as the user has the same things loaded as myself...

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

Duncan Brannan Send DuncanBrannan82 a Private Message
*Expert Elite*
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 6 of 7 (573 Views)

Re: Issue on one workstation with an rvt file, crashes when opening!

03-22-2012 03:27 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Hi Joe,

 

I removed all the addins in the following location... C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Revit\Addins\2012 however it made no difference as to the error we are having. Do you have any other suggestions?

 

What is the exception thats happening in the Journal files i attached?

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

Duncan Brannan Send DuncanBrannan82 a Private Message
*Expert Elite*
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 7 of 7 (557 Views)

Re: Issue on one workstation with an rvt file, crashes when opening!

03-26-2012 08:24 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

FYI we have solved the issue.

 

The issue is related to a ~.snippet file in the VSTA install, as i understand, this is a temp file packaged in the installer and Deployment Image. If this file is missing it kills the loading of Revit Structure.

 

Unfortunately we dont replicate temporary files on our replication drive for deployment images which is why this error occured, however the error wasnt flagged when the install takes place silently so we werent aware of it.

 

My question is, why do you package temporary files in your packaging / deployment images as this causes issues for us deploying software if they are missing...

 

We have had this issue before with Thumbs.db, *.bak files and now files with a ~ in it. Is there anyway you can stop this from happening in future releases of software? Obviously we can turn on replication for temporary files but we really shouldnt have to replicate temporary files that shouldnt be there as part of the package.

 

Could you please feed this back?


Regards,

 

Duncan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

Duncan Brannan Send DuncanBrannan82 a Private Message
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.