Revit Structure

Reply
Member
douglas2000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-22-2008
Message 1 of 12 (657 Views)

Importing 3D surface for Bridge

657 Views, 11 Replies
07-22-2008 01:03 AM
I am trying to figure out if it is possible to import a 3D surface into Revit Structure, that can be used as a basis for bridge modelling. Does anyone have any ideas as to the best way to do this? I was hoping to use the surface (imported from Civil road design programs) to attach my bridge elements to. I've looked into toposurface, which don't seem to suit my needs, and tried to import the surface into a mass, but have not had any luck. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Contributor
nicolas.mangon
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-25-2004
Message 2 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

07-22-2008 05:51 PM in reply to: douglas2000
there are a number of ways to do that
what kind of surface file do you have?
what kind of bridge are you designing
feel free to contact me at nicolas.mangon@autodesk.com
Member
douglas2000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-22-2008
Message 3 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

07-22-2008 06:13 PM in reply to: douglas2000
The 3D road surface has been exported from 12D to Autocad as 3D string lines and as a 3D tin surface. I have tried to create a mass in Revit using both of these but can't achieve what I would like.

I would like to use the 3D civil design as a reference point that I can base the setout of the bridge upon.

The bridge has concrete abutments, piles, wing walls, with precast deck units, concrete deck slab & steel or concrete barriers.
*wips
Message 4 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

07-24-2008 11:46 PM in reply to: douglas2000
Hi

I am also very keen to use Revit Structure for bridge design, mostly for
flyovers. Currently there is one problem with modelling: Revit does not
allow beams curved in 3D (horisontally + vertically). As vertical
curvature is normally small, we can handle it with straight elements.
Hopefully this will be addressed in next version.
It would be great to reference road and terrain models to Revit or
connect alignment and profile data.

Raul


Douglas2000 wrote:
> The 3D road surface has been exported from 12D to Autocad as 3D string lines and as a 3D tin surface. I have tried to create a mass in Revit using both of these but can't achieve what I would like.
>
> I would like to use the 3D civil design as a reference point that I can base the setout of the bridge upon.
>
> The bridge has concrete abutments, piles, wing walls, with precast deck units, concrete deck slab & steel or concrete barriers.
Contributor
nicolas.mangon
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-25-2004
Message 5 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

08-11-2008 10:46 PM in reply to: douglas2000
please contact me at nicolas.mangon@autodesk.com
thank you
New Member
Politchj
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 6 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

11-04-2008 10:41 PM in reply to: douglas2000
I am very interested in this thread and the answers to the previous two questions in particular as I am in the process of evaluating Revit and two other competitor packages for bridge design. More and more of our bridge designs comprise vertical and horizontal curves, usually of precast concrete beams, so this type of complex geometry and interoperability is critical to our software choice.
Any answers to the previos questions or additional information that can be shared would be of great help.
Employee
chuchumouth
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-17-2003
Message 7 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

11-10-2008 01:54 PM in reply to: douglas2000
Hi Douglas (and others),

Is there an email address that I can contact you directly? In fact, our product team is currently working with other worldwide customers (who did use Revit Structure to do some bridge projects) to prepare some tutorial/whitepaper type of documentations and share their knowledge with other users.

When it will be ready (very soon), I can certainly let you know and tell you where to download the materials.

Best Regards,

Wai Chu (wai.chu@autodesk.com)
Technical Product Manager
Revit Structure
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
PeterGriffen
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
Message 8 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

11-18-2008 04:36 AM in reply to: douglas2000
please could you include me in on this thanks
pxread@skm.co.uk

thanks
pete
New Member
AATConsult
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2008
Message 9 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

12-03-2008 10:49 PM in reply to: douglas2000
Any new in information on this. Thanks!
Member
jpenny
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
Message 10 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: Importing 3D surface for Bridge

07-02-2009 02:27 PM in reply to: douglas2000
Nicolas,

Has this been sorted out on 2010? We would like to purchase this application because we will be using this 90% of the time. I don't have much luck in finding revit user on bridges except this thread.

Thanks!
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.