Revit Structure

Revit Structure

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
PatrickEC
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 1 of 4 (165 Views)

How to display/identify constraints when editing floor boundary?

165 Views, 3 Replies
10-17-2012 03:48 PM

I am editing the floor boundary and there are constraints on some of the sketch lines. I am wondering why I am not seeing padlock icons and how to identify to which element any particular sketch line is constraint.

 

Video: http://screencast.com/t/Ripy7KJ4

 

 

How_to_display-identify_constraints_when_editing_floor_boundary.png

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,053
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 2 of 4 (145 Views)

Re: How to display/identify constraints when editing floor boundary?

10-22-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: PatrickEC

Just curious here -- would switching to one of the plan views make a difference when editing the slab?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Valued Contributor
gguevarra
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 3 of 4 (129 Views)

Re: How to display/identify constraints when editing floor boundary?

10-23-2012 10:40 AM in reply to: PatrickEC

I don't believe switching to a plan view will make a difference. My guess is that there is something else in the model that is locking the floor boundary in its place. For example, there could be a dimension from the floor edge to a grid that is locked, or an element that the floor edge is aligned and locked to. When editing the boundary of the floor, the padlocks from those external constraints don't show up. To try and identify what is providing the constraint, try getting out of the Edit Floor Boundary command and selecting the floor. It should highlight any padlocks that apply to the floor.

Distinguished Contributor
PatrickEC
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 4 of 4 (120 Views)

Re: How to display/identify constraints when editing floor boundary?

10-24-2012 10:52 AM in reply to: gguevarra

Thank you for your posts, I don't seem to be aple recreate this issue, so maybe that was just a glitch.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!