Revit Structure Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Structure Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Structure topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do we make the change to Revit?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
brettc
572 Views, 2 Replies

Do we make the change to Revit?

Morning All

Hope I find you well.

I work in the mining  industry and work in a large number of disciplines. We do mostly Structural and Mechanical layouts, and some detailing depending on how critical the connections are. I am an Autodesk Inventor expert, and have been on Inventor for the past 8 years. With Inventor I have successfully completed many large projects. Saying all the above Revit Structure seems to be growing, and job opportunities seem to be opening up for Revit users.

I have been asked to access Revit Structure and it’s capabilities in order to see if we would benefit from making the move to Revit. Or if we should look at using Revit for certain aspects of our design (Which Aspects?),  and then integrate our Inventor and Revit models.

I have done a bit of playing with Revit Structure for the past few days, going through tutorials and some videos. When looking at concrete and reinforced concrete I can see good reasons to make a move, but then when I get to the structural steel side of things I find Revit Structure a bit difficult to use when trying to create some complex structures (Probably because of my lack of experience) .  I also find Revit Structure a bit cumbersome when creating detailed components.

In our mechanical layouts, we often include Chutes, Conveyors, crushers, etc, and their supporting structures. I have attached an image of the kind of structures we have designed in Inventor. Please could you comment on the structure attached, and let me know if you think Revit is the correct direction. As I said in the post I can see the benefit in foundations, walls and maybe Levels.