Revit Structure Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Structure Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Structure topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do Structural Engineers Use Revit

24 REPLIES 24
Message 1 of 25
bward
11970 Views, 24 Replies

Do Structural Engineers Use Revit

I am an architect and use Revit. Our structural engineers do not. They use RAM Steel to perform their structural analysis (Gravity only) and then give the work to CAD operators to document in AutoCAD or Revit. The problem is that since the structural engieers are not ativly working in Revit because they cannot use it for design and only documentation, they are detacted from the process and slowing us down with constant requests for 2D CAD exports or PDF files. Can Revit Structure be used for structural analysis?

24 REPLIES 24
Message 2 of 25
LyleHardin
in reply to: bward

Yes. We are finally beginning to do just that after many years of half-**** experiments. Our engineers use STAAD, and we have had good results using Structural Integrators' SI Xchange to translate from Revit to STAAD.  Bentley has their own Revit plug in to create a "Repository" that can be imported into various Bentley products but we've not had good results with that. We are also starting to use Revit to model buildings and produce the 2D prints. Revit Structure does a great job at making the 'usual' 2D structural stick drawings from the models.  We can model a structure in just a day or two that would take the structural engineers two weeks to model in STAAD. We've still not added loads in Revit to export. The engineers still like to add the loads on their own in STAAD.  I'm not sure if this helps you with RAM, but it's a start.

Message 3 of 25
LyleHardin
in reply to: LyleHardin