Revit Structure

Reply
Valued Contributor
99 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Post 1 of 7
Accepted Solution

Curved Beams

1375 Views, 6 Replies
01-09-2013 07:39 AM

Hello All

 

I need some help as I have never done this before.

 

I  was wondering if you someone could tell me how to create a curved beam in either section or elevation. I was reading someone created one along a path but I don't know how to do that. I am using RST 2012. I am hoping that someone can guide me in the right direction. The architect has is shown on their drawings but this all new territory to me.

 

All help and suggestions welcome.

 

Regards

 

Kevin

Kevin
Using Revit Structure 2012, 2013, 2014
I think I am getting the hang of this revit stuff

Start the beam tool. In the ribbon (close to the right), there is a box with a bunch of different lines called the "Draw Gallery".

Note that the default is a straight line.

Chose one of the curves, and start sketching.

 

To create a vertically curved beam, switch to an elevation or section view, and do the same.

 

Joe

Employee
940 Posts
58 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Post 2 of 7

Re: Curved Beams

01-09-2013 11:53 AM in reply to: kevms

Start the beam tool. In the ribbon (close to the right), there is a box with a bunch of different lines called the "Draw Gallery".

Note that the default is a straight line.

Chose one of the curves, and start sketching.

 

To create a vertically curved beam, switch to an elevation or section view, and do the same.

 

Joe

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Post 3 of 7

Re: Curved Beams

01-10-2013 02:33 PM in reply to: kevms

If the architect already has them in their model, and it is linked into your model.  Couldn't you try Copy-monitor?  Or you can copy and paste to same place.

Valued Contributor
99 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Post 4 of 7

Re: Curved Beams

01-11-2013 06:06 AM in reply to: Joe.Charpentier

Hi, the first time and several times after that, the arc option in the draw gallery would not be available for some reason. after kicking my computer and work on something else for a while. it seemed to become available and was able to draw the beam on a arc. (mental note: make sure you have a reference plan to draw on)

 

Thanks Joe

 

Regards,

 

Kevin

Kevin
Using Revit Structure 2012, 2013, 2014
I think I am getting the hang of this revit stuff
Valued Contributor
99 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Post 5 of 7

Re: Curved Beams

01-11-2013 06:09 AM in reply to: DRamirez

DRamirezSSA

 

That thought never occured to me. Even though I have already drawn the framing, I am going go back and give the copy/monitor option a try. thanks.

 

Regards

 

Kevin

Kevin
Using Revit Structure 2012, 2013, 2014
I think I am getting the hang of this revit stuff
New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Post 6 of 7

Re: Curved Beams

01-11-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: kevms

Giving it some further thought, I am not certain if you can copy-monitor them in.  But you can copy-paste for sure, when you select the link tab through to get the beam(s) you want and past to same place.  There are only certain items you can bring in with copy-monitor feature

Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
Post 7 of 7

Re: Curved Beams

09-16-2013 08:34 PM in reply to: DRamirez

Hello everybody,

When i transfer my model from RS to RSAP, my curve beams are divided too small, is there any way to change the division? Please show me!

Thanks

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!