Revit Structure

Reply
Member
djben9
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 1 of 5 (667 Views)

Cell beams (Westok, Fabsek etc.)

667 Views, 4 Replies
11-15-2012 12:50 AM

Hi.

i have some cell beams to create. Ive made one already for a test floor but i have a problem with the hold lining up. Attached images.

Can someone point me in the direction of some guidance (if there is some) on the best way to change the parameters.

 

i have one bema that spans from column to column. when i use it to span from column to core wall, the holes then dont align.

 

Do i need a new beam?,  a new family?

 

(p.s this is fairly new to me!)

column to column.jpg

 

core wall to column.jpg

 

Two beams shown here

 

error.jpg

 

array offset.jpg

Ive tried chaging the offset dims on the right but it effects both beams, so would i need a new family?, if this is the case, i guess i would need a few as there is bound to be other situations??

 

any help would be great!!

 

 

Member
djben9
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 2 of 5 (611 Views)

Re: Cell beams (Westok, Fabsek etc.)

12-11-2012 03:34 AM in reply to: djben9

Hi,

Any one shed some light??. i ve had some help from another forum but still struggling to be honest. Is it possilble for revit to do this?

 

with holes aligned throughout the floor, will i need a new beam for each one, so a WB01, but maybe 3 types if the holes vary so 3 families. With a 12 storey building this could mean a lot of families if i have a total of 150 odd beam types?!

 

Is there any other ways of achieving this similar outcome?

 

only every done this in micorstation but we used the hole layout from a 2d file we referenced in

Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 3 of 5 (593 Views)

Re: Cell beams (Westok, Fabsek etc.)

12-12-2012 12:32 AM in reply to: djben9

Hi. I'm not sure I fully understand your problem. If I understand correctly you have the same beam with different spans unless your distance to column and wall are exactly the same. In this case, the alignment will be different because you are setting the start and end arrays at a fixed distance. So, whenever you have different distances you will have different alignment. If I misunderstood, please clarify or send a file so that I can take a look at it.

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Member
djben9
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 4 of 5 (47 Views)

Re: Cell beams (Westok, Fabsek etc.)

09-23-2014 04:20 AM in reply to: AJA14

Juut curious as its been some time since i first posted this.....and came across it in a google search!

 

Is there anything in Revit now thats automated and can do this for you?. Align holes in the beams across the floor plate. Surely there are simple ways to create buildings with these cellular beams?....it cant all be manual can it??

 

 

New Member
tkunsman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2012
Message 5 of 5 (17 Views)

Re: Cell beams (Westok, Fabsek etc.)

10-16-2014 10:44 AM in reply to: djben9

There is a cellular (castellated beam) family in Revit - BUT I would caution you to make sure your local fabricator can fabricate the beam. Both North American fabricators have since stopped making this. They can still be found in Europe - so please check before you submit a drawing!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.