Revit Structure Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Structure Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Structure topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't Change Linetype

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
dve.reber
1527 Views, 2 Replies

Can't Change Linetype

I hate to ask a question that has undoubtedly been asked a million times, but after 2 hours, I can't make any visible changes to my floor plan's linework, so I thought I might make this post.

I am quite new to Revit Structure and working in file that I have received from an architect. I have created a workset for myself and moved all of the structural elements onto that workset.

Then, I found this helpful list showing Revit's Visibility Hirearchy:

Revit gives the user a number of ways to override the display of an element. It may not always be clear which method “wins” over another method, but there is a visibility hierarchy. This list may not cover every possible scenario but does include common overrides.
10 being the lowest and 1 being the highest using walls as an example:

1. Line Work Tool
2. Override Graphics in View > By Element > Halftone
3. Graphic Display Options – Silhouette Edges
4. Override Graphics in View > By Element
5. View Filters
6. View Depth – “Beyond” Line Style
7. Phasing Graphic Overrides
8. Visibility / Graphic Overrides > Override Host Layers > Cut Line Styles
9. Visibility / Graphic Overrides > Projection \ Cut Lines
10. Project Object Styles

Pasted from http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/2012/02/revit-visibility-hierarchy.html

So by this logic, if I make a change with the "Line Work Tool", it should change the line.

So I go to my structural floor plan click "modify" click "Line Work Tool" under "View" and now the ribbon turns greenish and I can't make any changes.

Any idea what is wrong?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
dve.reber
in reply to: dve.reber

Man I wish I could edit this...
Message 3 of 3