Revit Structure

Reply
Contributor
JRapid
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-18-2009
Message 1 of 5 (490 Views)

Autodesk Seek problems....

490 Views, 4 Replies
05-18-2010 07:59 AM
I upgraded to 2011 and now I can't open items that I downloaded from Autodesk Seek. The message says that it can't find the program to open them with. Anyone know what program I need?

Thanks, Josh
Contributor
JRapid
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-18-2009
Message 2 of 5 (490 Views)

Re: Autodesk Seek problems....

05-18-2010 09:23 AM in reply to: JRapid
I realized that Revit 2011 uses .rvt files vs. .rfa files. Since I removed 2010, I didn't have a program to open .rfa files. Once I reloaded 2010, I was able to open the .rfa files in 2011, which then automatically converted them to .rvt files.

Lesson of the day; when upgrading to 2011, leave 2010 installed.........just in case.

Josh
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 3 of 5 (490 Views)

Re: Autodesk Seek problems....

05-18-2010 11:17 AM in reply to: JRapid
Revit 2011 will open .rfa files.

Start Revit.
Appmenu (Big "R")>open>Family
Browse to file.
Open it.

You can also select the RFA file in Windows explorer, right click>"Open With" and select Revit.

Don't forget if you only have 2011, and are working with an architect who has 2010, he will not be able to use your files.

Joe
Contributor
JRapid
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-18-2009
Message 4 of 5 (490 Views)

Re: Autodesk Seek problems....

05-18-2010 12:07 PM in reply to: JRapid
I have 2010 and 2011. When I installed 2011, I removed 2010. When I only had 2011 on my machine, I could not open a .rfa file by the methods you described. It was not until I re-installed 2010 that I was able to open .rfa in 2011.

Oh well, all is good now. Thanks for the reply.
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 5 of 5 (490 Views)

Re: Autodesk Seek problems....

05-18-2010 12:46 PM in reply to: JRapid
Wow, so you're saying that in after uninstalling r2010, from inside r2011, you couldn't even open a family file? (Not from Windows explorer)

That's completely bizarre.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.