Revit MEP

Reply
Member
rconnonringdu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 1 of 4 (564 Views)

Yes/No Checkbox

564 Views, 3 Replies
11-16-2012 10:56 AM

I am trying to create a schedule for motor operated control dampers, where options such as fail position and blade type are either one choice or another. (fail closed or fail open for position, and opposed or parallel for blade type.) I would like the schedule/parameter to function where if fail open was checked, then fail closed would automatically be unchecked. I currently have fail closed as a calculated value with the formula being "not(Fail Open)". This returns either a yes or a no, which is the information I want, but it isn't in the checkbox format. Does anyone know how to make the parameter populate an actual check box with a check for yes and empty for no? Conditional formatting only gives a background color to the cell and won't actually check a box.

 

Thanks,

Rachel

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (559 Views)

Re: Yes/No Checkbox

11-16-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: rconnonringdu
If you have Yes/No parameter included in a Schedule, it will appear as a checkbox in the Schedule View, but if it is controlled by a formula, it will appear as a "Yes" or a "No". That is the issue you are experiencing, right? Well, this may be a moot point because the value will appear as a "Yes" or a "No" on the Schedule Graphics regardless of how it appears in the Schedule View.
Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
rconnonringdu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 3 of 4 (555 Views)

Re: Yes/No Checkbox

11-16-2012 11:16 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Yes, that was the issue. I didn't realize that in the Schedule Graphics that they all show up as Yes or No anyway.

 

But if I did want them all to appear as checkboxes on the Schedule View, but still only allow one to be checked, is there a way to do that?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (549 Views)

Re: Yes/No Checkbox

11-16-2012 11:25 AM in reply to: rconnonringdu
I don't believe so. The whole point of the difference is to indicate whether or not the user can manipulate the value. If the formula-driven parameters showed up as a checkbox, clicking on it would do nothing (it won't toggle because the other Yes/No parameter is not driven by this one), and probably confuse people who don't know why that is.
Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!