Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working with architect's updated model

19 REPLIES 19
Message 1 of 20
AEScott
651 Views, 19 Replies

Working with architect's updated model

I am new to Revit. I've been working with it for the last month just using the tutorials.

I have a project where the architect provided my company with a revit model which I have modified. I just recently received an update from the architect and everything I do causes me to lose my updates.

My research on this topic has found that I should replace my current central file on the server with the updated model. I have found no other information about how to salvage my changes. Should I save my local file to central after the update and central will recognize the differences and notify me?

I'm trying to prove that this project can be done faster in Revit and than in AutoCAD. So far with a little tweaking I'm able to work faster than the people working in AutoCAD except for one or two stumbling blocks which require research.
19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
jayspot
in reply to: AEScott

Are you working in the architects model or are you linking it into your model? When you say "modify" are you referring to the architects model or your own?
Message 3 of 20
AEScott

I started with the architect's model as my central file. "Saved as" to my local computer and edited the file on my local computer. The architect's model and the one on my hard drive being saved to central both have linked files but these linked files are from CAD.
Message 4 of 20
Anonymous

You need to start your own file, and Link in the Architect's file. The Arch
file is used as a background for your work. You should not be editing the
Arch file directly. Since it will be linked, updates to the Arch file will