Revit MEP

Reply
Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Post 1 of 5

Work Undone After Syncing with Central File

445 Views, 4 Replies
09-04-2012 05:10 PM

My project team has run into a rather annoying problem.  Sometimes after sycning with the central file, we find that some of our work is undone (i.e. sprinklers and pipe shift back to their former positions).

Is there a cause for this?  Could having duplicate mark values cause this?  Users working on the same workset?

Thank you.

Mentor
176 Posts
13 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Post 2 of 5

Re: Work Undone After Syncing with Central File

09-05-2012 03:39 AM in reply to: m.j.ferra

It could be, if you did not check out worksets you are not able to modify anything. It will usually tell you though. Are you getting any warning messages?

Distinguished Mentor
772 Posts
24 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Post 3 of 5

Re: Work Undone After Syncing with Central File

09-05-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: m.j.ferra

This tends to happen to us when many people are working on the project at once.

 

You do not have to "Check Out" a workset to do work, Revit automatically 'Borrows" the object for you.

 

However, I think the cause of this issue is two or more people modifying or borrowing objects on the same workset.  It does not happen to us often, but it does.  Make sure everyone Syncronizes with Central often, and also Relinquish.

Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Post 4 of 5

Re: Work Undone After Syncing with Central File

09-05-2012 11:30 AM in reply to: asommer

Yeah, our office tends to take the "borrow, don't own" approach to worksharing.  As far as I know, people weren't working on the same elements, but in different areas of the workset.  I think somehow an older version of the elements was uploaded to the central file, which then propogated to the other local files.  We had one of our guys stop doing "Reload Latest", and that seems to have resolved the issue (for now).

Distinguished Mentor
772 Posts
24 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Post 5 of 5

Re: Work Undone After Syncing with Central File

09-06-2012 02:44 PM in reply to: m.j.ferra

Oh, I forgot... Make sure everyone is on the same "Build" (Service Pack).  One of our people were not up-to-date, and it caused all kinds of issues, such as this one.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post