Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
tsk001
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-19-2007
Message 1 of 5 (379 Views)
Accepted Solution

Wire breaking over detail lines

379 Views, 4 Replies
10-10-2013 01:59 PM

When I manually put wires on my plans, they gap when they cross over detail lines from the background. It is usually casework, furniture, etc. that the Architect has made with detail lines. How do I get this to stop?

I think I found a solution:

 

In the Electrical Settings under Hidden Lines - uncheck draw MEP hidden lines and change line style to thin lines.

 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,336
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (337 Views)

Re: Wire breaking over detail lines

10-14-2013 06:01 AM in reply to: tsk001

I do not believe that there is any direct way to stop without either disable the wire gaps entirely or by not showing the architect's Detail Lines. MEP Models are commonly created as separate Revit Project Files with the Architectural file Linked, which would also evade this issue.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
thewrz
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 3 of 5 (329 Views)

Re: Wire breaking over detail lines

10-14-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: tsk001

Check the following:

 

1. Is the architectual elements modeled in the same file, or it linked in? If linked in, make sure that the Revit link is set to "Underlay" in visibility graphics.

 

2. Is the view you're drawing your wires in an "Electrical" discipline view or is it "Coordination"? Make sure it's "Electrical"

 

3. If it's ALL in the same model... well... not sure if I can help you there since I have no experience modeling MEP elements side-by-side with Architectual elements :smileyhappy:

____________________________________________________
Please give kudos to the MEP Wish List ideas you like, as this will help the Revit development team prioritize functionality additions!
Contributor
tsk001
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-19-2007
Message 4 of 5 (311 Views)

Re: Wire breaking over detail lines

10-15-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: thewrz

1. Revit link is set to underlay.

 

2. Wires are drawn in Electrical disipline.

 

This is baffleing me. All my lighting sheets look great, the lines do not break when they cross an architectural detail line.

It is only on my electrical sheets. It has to be a setting that differs between my lighting and electrical templates.

Contributor
tsk001
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-19-2007
Message 5 of 5 (305 Views)

Re: Wire breaking over detail lines

10-15-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: tsk001

I think I found a solution:

 

In the Electrical Settings under Hidden Lines - uncheck draw MEP hidden lines and change line style to thin lines.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.