Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
paulo
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-09-2012
Message 1 of 3 (784 Views)
Accepted Solution

Two-way and Three-way switch

784 Views, 2 Replies
10-02-2012 06:37 AM

Hello.

How can I connect a two-way and three-way switch? I need to connect two-way using the same family of switch to two different circuits. I also need to do the same with three-way.

A single Lighting Device (Switch) element can be chosen as the "Switch" for multiple Switch Systems. However, a Switch System cannot be connected to two separate switches. So currently, three-way switches are not possible in Revit, and are commonly addressed by adding Shared Parameters to them in order to label them correctly. Searching through this forum should net you some more details on this work-around.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 3 (779 Views)

Re: Two-way and Three-way switch

10-02-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: paulo

A single Lighting Device (Switch) element can be chosen as the "Switch" for multiple Switch Systems. However, a Switch System cannot be connected to two separate switches. So currently, three-way switches are not possible in Revit, and are commonly addressed by adding Shared Parameters to them in order to label them correctly. Searching through this forum should net you some more details on this work-around.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 3 of 3 (739 Views)

Re: Two-way and Three-way switch

10-09-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

If you would like this functionality added to Revit, this link is setup for you to submit feature requests, or feedback, directly to our Development group.

I encourage you to use the feedback link as our Development group is always interested and would like to hear your feedback directly, since you are better suited to state the business case for a feature request.



Chris Aquino
Knowledge Domain Expert
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.