Revit MEP

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
robincapperw
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎11-12-2003
Message 11 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

06-26-2006 05:09 PM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
Two reasons:
- Define the area for asset tracking, property reports (m²)
- Define location for referencing in service instructions etc
Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,298
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 12 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

06-27-2006 03:50 AM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
To me, both of those seem to be related to the base building, and thus should be defined by the architect and in the architectural model. If these definitions only showed up on the electrical drawings, for example via annotation, they could easily get lost since there would be no reference to them in the 'master' room schedule or other such building program.

Martin Schmid, P.E.
Autodesk Consulting


Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
Griff
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-07-2003
Message 13 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

07-13-2006 10:06 AM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
I have a couple of questions now that we have Revit Systems (RS). I have not had to worry about worksets or linking files before because I was the only one using Revit (Revit Building [RB]). The mech/elect was done in Autodesk Building Systems.

What is the best practice for me using RB and the other guy in our office that will be using RS?

I don't see how we could both have the same file open and have me doing Arch and have him doing mech/elect. So wouldn't he (using RS) have to link my model and use copy/monitor (which I have heard about but never used)

Should I create a template file using RS for RB so I can set up all the RB specific views and items?

I'm not quite sure what is the best way to setup a good working environment between RB and RS. If any of you can share what you think might work best for a 2 man office situation, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance for any help getting RB up and working in our office
*Scott Davis
Message 14 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

07-13-2006 02:16 PM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
in a 2 man team in the same office, you could use worksets and both work on
the same model. Your main workset could be called "Arch" and his "MEP".
You have your central file, and each have local copies that you work on, and
Save to Central throughout the day.

I think this is ideal over using linked files and copy/monitor. Work
directly on the same database!

wrote in message news:5236208@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have a couple of questions now that we have Revit Systems (RS). I have
not had to worry about worksets or linking files before because I was the
only one using Revit (Revit Building [RB]). The mech/elect was done in
Autodesk Building Systems.

What is the best practice for me using RB and the other guy in our office
that will be using RS?

I don't see how we could both have the same file open and have me doing Arch
and have him doing mech/elect. So wouldn't he (using RS) have to link my
model and use copy/monitor (which I have heard about but never used)

Should I create a template file using RS for RB so I can set up all the RB
specific views and items?

I'm not quite sure what is the best way to setup a good working environment
between RB and RS. If any of you can share what you think might work best
for a 2 man office situation, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance for any help getting RB up and working in our office
Active Contributor
Griff
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-07-2003
Message 15 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

07-13-2006 05:08 PM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
Thank you Scott for the help. I think that is the way I should go. It feels good to get ideas from other people and learn from their experience. Rafterman mentioned that there is a tutorial on the Autodesk subscription center webpage that deals with how to use worksets. I think I'll check that out. Thanks again!
Active Contributor
Griff
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-07-2003
Message 16 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

07-14-2006 09:30 AM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
I just went thru the workset training on Autodesk subscription e-learning catalog. I understood the steps and what they were doing, but I don't understand why they were using a project that was very near if not totally complete and then assigning worksets and populating views. That doesn't make since. I envision that I will draw up the floor plan of architectural items in RB. Then I will assign worksets by discipline (Arch, Piping, Fire Protection, HVAC & Electrical). I figured I would separate out each discipline so that either one of us could work on any of the disciplines. I would then have a view that is specific for each discipline and assign that view to a workset.

The problem I don't understand is, when I setup the worksets there won't be any items to select (piping, ductwork, etc.) and assign to a workset. Those items will be placed in the model by the person doing the work in that workset (discipline)

Does the person assigned the electrical workset just start drawing in that 'electrical plan' and then select the items and assign them to the electrical workset?

Also, why in the training file did they not select the electrical circuit wiring and tags (everything the electrical person is placing in the model) and assign them to the electrical workset?

I hope this isn't too much to post, but I'm not grasping the workset idea from that e-learning training.
Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,298
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 17 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

07-14-2006 09:50 AM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
You are on track.

Newly created objects will be placed on the current workset. So you have have M, E, and P worksets, the designer of each discipline sets the appropriate workset current for them.

HTH,
Martin Schmid, P.E.
Autodesk Consulting


Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
Griff
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-07-2003
Message 18 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

07-14-2006 10:22 AM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
Things are coming more and more into focus. I guess I didn't understand that each discipline has control of the worksets. How much control I'm not sure.

So,,,, I setup the worksets, I save the central file onto a server that we both have access to.

I'm doing the Arch., do I set all the worksets (discipline) except Arch to not editable.

I suppose the owner is whoever clicks on the workset to edit it? If that is the case, then who is the borrower.

Sorry if these questions seem real basic for most of you, but I'm not use to having anyone else work on the same file.


I have found a tutorial in the Revit Building 9 that I think might be able to answer the last set of questions I had. I'll work thru them and post my findings. Message was edited by: Griff
Distinguished Contributor
Steve_Stafford
Posts: 572
Registered: ‎12-20-2001
Message 19 of 19 (84 Views)

Re: Systems typical Workflow

07-15-2006 03:00 AM in reply to: *Andre Gawlik
I compare worksharing to a library and how it functions. The central file is the library, our library card is our local file (copy of the central file), the shelves in the library are worksets and books are everything else in the project...doors, windows, text, views, dimensions...everything.

When you borrow or check out a user created workset you are borrowing an entire shelf of books, all the model objects you've placed on that shelf. When you borrow one wall that is on a shelf you are a borrower instead of the owner of the user created workset.

Owning an entire workset is akin to opening a dwg file and nobody else can work on it till you stop. When you borrow elements instead, everyone else can work on other elements that are on the same shelf if necessary.

An Autodesk Revit staffer said once that worksharing is not a security guard, it is a traffic cop, yes you can go, no please wait a minute till these others pass....

Revit wants to make sure that nobody is working on the same element but it is not concerned about whether you should be working on it.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!