Revit MEP

Reply
Member
srva80
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
Message 1 of 8 (290 Views)

System of nested families

290 Views, 7 Replies
05-18-2012 07:28 AM

Does anyone know of a way to pull/push system information through to a nested family?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,277
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 8 (279 Views)

Re: System of nested families

05-18-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: srva80

You can "push" parameters, but you cannot "pull" them. If you select the nested family, you can go to Properties (for instance parameters) or Type Properties (for type parameters) and create a link using the little button to the right of the parameter (see image below). The parameters must be of the same data type (i.e. Text, Air Flow, Number).

 

NestedParameterLink.JPG

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
srva80
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
Message 3 of 8 (276 Views)

Re: System of nested families

05-18-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Yes I am aware of that. Let me explain a little more...

 

Im a developing a paired flange family.. It consists of several nested families, ie. bolts/studs, nuts, gasket and the other flange. The reason for doing this is each piece needs to be listed as a seperate line item on the BOM. The number and size of all of these objects is determined based on the nominal diameter of the pipe its connected to.

 

The system name is also something that we need to see in the BOM for each object as its used for another parameter that we order from . When I place this flange on the pipe only the "outter/host" family recieves any information about the piping system its conected to. I need all the pieces and parts to show as they are on that system.

 

Hope that explains it a little better..

 

Thanks!!

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,277
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 8 (267 Views)

Re: System of nested families

05-18-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: srva80

Understood, and what you need then is to make the nested family Shared. This will allow the nested family to be scheduled as separate entities, even if there are multiple instances nested within multiple different families. In order to make a family Shared, open that family and under Family Category and Parameters, check the box for the Shared Parameter.

 

NestedParameterLink.JPG

 

Don't hesitate to ask if you need any more info, or run into any problems.

 

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
srva80
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-11-2012
Message 5 of 8 (263 Views)

Re: System of nested families

05-18-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Yes.. I have all that taken care of. Everything works perfect, it even choses the correct studs and nuts based on the material of the flange and even the length of the studs... I just cant get the system name to come through..

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,277
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 8 (259 Views)

Re: System of nested families

05-18-2012 08:23 AM in reply to: srva80

"System" will not go through to the nested family. In order to convey that information, you will have to create a Shared Parameter (or use a field like Description), place that in the Nested Family, and then feed that parameter though a manually inputted value in the host family.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
Randy_CaS
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-25-2011
Message 7 of 8 (251 Views)

Re: System of nested families

05-18-2012 02:11 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

What template did you start with? In a mech equip family there is a radio button to associate the system name, which may not be present in another template.

Capture.JPG

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,277
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: System of nested families

05-21-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: Randy_CaS

You're right - there is a linkable parameter there, but Revit is not smart enough to apply the System Name to the embedded family. It appears to be just a text parameter that you have to manually control still.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.