Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Steps to create correct AutoCAD drawings for Revit

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
bethanyvk
290 Views, 3 Replies

Steps to create correct AutoCAD drawings for Revit

We are a manufacturer and would like to prep our AutoCad drawings so they can be easily
linked. What steps should we go through to make sure a designer can successfully
bring these drawings into Revit.

I am not an engineer and do not know AutoCad or Revit, but need to know how to
explain the process. Through different blogs/posts it seems that different layers
within the AutoCad DWG file need to be named. Is this correct?

Any help you can provide would be helpful.

Thanks,

BethanyVK

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
L.Maas
in reply to: bethanyvk

Depends a little bit on what you will supply (2D, 3D?) and what you expect from the customers. I normally try to avoid using autocad drawings in Revit. If it is for example a floor plan layout, then I link it in, use Revit components to draw over it (walls, doors, windows etc) and unload the autocad file.

If it is more like components (equipment, plumbing material, furniture etc), I try to reproduce it in Revit by making a family. Depending on the shape of the component I can use the autocad files to trace over parts, to convert them to 3D revit part (extrusions, sweeps etc). Sometimes only a simplified version of the original (autocad) parts are needed in Revit.

In Revit you can switch of autocad layers. So normally you will switch of the layers which are not needed (e.g. texts, dimensions).

If I receive autocad file with lots of details, I normally open it in autocad and dispose of all the information not needed for use in Revit. 

Imports, like autocad normally will slow Revit down.

Louis

EESignature