Revit MEP

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 1 of 8 (229 Views)

Space Calc workplane?

229 Views, 7 Replies
06-28-2012 08:13 AM

I have an Exhaust air terminal that comes down in a corner and rests on the floor (please see attached).  I had to pull the bottom off the floor to get the space to recognize the flow value.  the floor is sloped, and so is the space.  my diff doesn't go beyond the floor, the diff is completely inside the space, here it is an inch above the bottom of the space.  Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 8 (215 Views)

Re: Space Calc workplane?

06-29-2012 06:27 AM in reply to: asommer

If you move it more into the Space, does it register? And if so, how much farther up into the Space must you move it?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 3 of 8 (211 Views)

Re: Space Calc workplane?

06-29-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: asommer

It is already completely in the space.  The floor slopes, therefore the space slopes, however I made sure no part of the diff is breaking the surface of the floor.  I have to raise it 1.5" to get it to register in the space Airflow values.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 8 (206 Views)

Re: Space Calc workplane?

06-29-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: asommer

I was curious if Revit wanted it to be above or at the highest point of the sloped Space's floor. As if it draws an invisible line as per the attached image. "You must be this tall to be included in the Space", or something like that.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 5 of 8 (199 Views)

Re: Space Calc workplane?

06-29-2012 09:16 AM in reply to: asommer

I'm 5'-6", but I look taller in section view:smileywink:

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 6 of 8 (179 Views)

Re: Space Calc workplane?

07-02-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: asommer

What version or Revit MEP are you using?

For 2013, moving the Room Calculation Point to just the edge of edge the terminal should let you place the geometry on the floor and still have the flow register in the Space.

If you are using 2012, can you post a copy of your terminal so we can better test the condition?



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 7 of 8 (174 Views)

Re: Space Calc workplane?

07-02-2012 03:42 PM in reply to: asommer

2012, The floor exhaust inlet is Attached.  Thanks for taking a look.

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 8 of 8 (151 Views)

Re: Space Calc workplane?

07-05-2012 04:20 PM in reply to: asommer

It looks like the issue is due to the level which is hosting the terminal is not in the spaces element, so the terminal doesn't get associated with the space until you move it up into the space. One workaround we were able to find is to create a new level above the highest part of the floor, and host the terminals to that level. 

 

As I mentioned earlier, the Room Computation Point tool was added in 2013 for situations like this.



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!