Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
Revitnewbie42
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-14-2014
Message 1 of 4 (201 Views)
Accepted Solution

Setting up the titleblock

201 Views, 3 Replies
01-27-2014 06:13 AM

I am trying to place the architects titleblock in my HVAC model.  Is there a way to incorporate this titleblock into my file?  Do I need to have the architect send me their actual titleblock file?  Any help would be much appreciated.  Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 2 of 4 (190 Views)

Re: Setting up the titleblock

01-27-2014 07:13 AM in reply to: Revitnewbie42
You can open the architect's model and open a sheet with the titleblock you want to extract. Select the titleblock and click Edit Family, make whatever changes you want to their titleblock, then load it into your model. I would do a save as also and save a copy in your library for future use.
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,230
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 4 (188 Views)

Re: Setting up the titleblock

01-27-2014 07:18 AM in reply to: Revitnewbie42

If you possess a copy of the architect's model, then their Title Block Family is almost certainly loaded into it. In order to extract it, open their model¹ (Detach from Central recommended, if applicable) and either a.) locate their Title Block Family in the Project Browser (under Families » Annotation Symbols), right click on the Family Name, and click "Edit" or b.) open one of their Sheet Views, right-click their Title Block, and select "Edit Family". Once the Title Block Family is open in the Family Editor, you can load it into your Project².

 

¹If you have your model open and the architectural model linked in, you will have to close out of your model first.

 

²The architect may have included one or more Shared Parameters which will not work properly unless you have loaded these into your Project as Project Parameters that apply to the "Sheets" Category. You can export these Shared Parameters into your Shared Parameters file through the Title Block Family: select a Label that contains a Shared Parameter, click "Edit..." next to 'Label' under Properties, and in the following dialog, select a Shared Parameter from the list on the left, and then click "Edit Family Parameter" below it, and then click "Export..." in the following dialog.

 

If you run into any issues, don't hesitate to post!

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
Revitnewbie42
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-14-2014
Message 4 of 4 (181 Views)

Re: Setting up the titleblock

01-27-2014 07:43 AM in reply to: Revitnewbie42

Thanks, that worked!   I'm sure I'll have many more questions on how to do simple tasks in revit, so be patient with me.  I work for a small engineering firm that is just starting to get it's feet wet with Revit.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.