Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
Niamhy14
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 1 of 4 (370 Views)
Accepted Solution

Roof Plan showing on MEP model

370 Views, 3 Replies
09-04-2012 10:44 AM

Hello,
I am relativly new at Revit MEP and I am having a bit of trouble so bare with me.

 

I need to show the roof plan on a plumbing model I am working on, but I am unsure how to set up a view or "get" the roof plan from the model in order to do my drainage piping. The model I am working is a linked model between Structural, Architectural, Mechanical and Plumbing.

I would ask someone in my office but the head CAD/Revit guys are gone on vacation, so I thought this would be the next best thing.


Thanks in advance for the help.

 

 

View tab, Plan Views - Floor Plan.  It will ask you to select a level.  you will need to have a "Level" at the roof level.

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 2 of 4 (360 Views)

Re: Roof Plan showing on MEP model

09-04-2012 11:44 AM in reply to: Niamhy14

View tab, Plan Views - Floor Plan.  It will ask you to select a level.  you will need to have a "Level" at the roof level.

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 3 of 4 (303 Views)

Re: Roof Plan showing on MEP model

09-06-2012 09:09 PM in reply to: asommer

I would ask someone in my office but the head CAD/Revit guys are gone on vacation, so I thought this would be the next best thing.

 

That underlined portion is wrong.  The best thing is to figure it out yourself.  The more you do that (figuring it out by yourself), the less times you'll ask your "head CAD/Revit guys", the less you're reliant on them, the more you'll learn (not by having someone do something for you), etc...  You wouldn't believe the amount of bad advice our REVIT geniuses give out here (I stopped asking a long time ago), your "head CAD/Revit guys" might not be different.   

Active Member
Negaquark
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-22-2009
Message 4 of 4 (258 Views)

Re: Roof Plan showing on MEP model

09-12-2012 12:23 PM in reply to: Sandleaz

Sandleaz wrote:

I would ask someone in my office but the head CAD/Revit guys are gone on vacation, so I thought this would be the next best thing.

 

That underlined portion is wrong.  The best thing is to figure it out yourself.  The more you do that (figuring it out by yourself), the less times you'll ask your "head CAD/Revit guys", the less you're reliant on them, the more you'll learn (not by having someone do something for you), etc...  You wouldn't believe the amount of bad advice our REVIT geniuses give out here (I stopped asking a long time ago), your "head CAD/Revit guys" might not be different.   



I totally agree.

I was moved to an other office to work with the Revit "experts" in my company.

The idea was, if I was stumped, I could walk right up to them and ask them.

So many times, I have asked them for help, & the couldn't give me the solution.

Funny thing is, most of the time I would figure it out on my "off" time, then show them how to do it. 

 

Things the "experts" couldn't figure out:

Variable length luminaires (see my other posts).

Wall mounted light fixtures not showing symbols (light fixture need "Maintain Annotation Orientation" parameter) .

How to move the Project base point to match the linked file (I never want to do that again).

 

 

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.