Revit MEP

Reply
Mentor
thombrady
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 1 of 7 (890 Views)

REVIT Undo Frustration

890 Views, 6 Replies
09-19-2012 06:57 AM

Just wondering if this has happened to anyone? I undo a command & all of a sudden it jumps back about 20-30 commands. What would caause this? (& no I did not undo 20-30 commands). This has happened to me a few times & although it is not too big of a deal I probably lose 15-30 minutes of work. Any comments & has this happened to anyone else????

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 2 of 7 (843 Views)

Re: REVIT Undo Frustration

09-20-2012 03:40 PM in reply to: thombrady

The first thing I would check when this happens, is to click the drop down next to the redo command and see if there are 20-30 commands that can be redone.


Generally when using the undo command, as long as you don't make changes after using the command, you can redo the undone commands.



Lance Coffey
Mentor
thombrady
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 3 of 7 (821 Views)

Re: REVIT Undo Frustration

09-21-2012 08:29 AM in reply to: thombrady

Unfortunately it never lets me redo anything. I should have mentioned that before but that is the frustrating part. thanks for replying.

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 4 of 7 (776 Views)

Re: REVIT Undo Frustration

09-24-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: thombrady

I was thinking if you were using Ctrl + Z to undo a command, and the key got stuck down, that you could see 20-30 changes undone, but in that case (as long as you don't make new changes in the project), you would have the option to redo.

When you are undoing a command, are you using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + Z, or clicking the back arrow on the Quick Access Toolbar (QAT)?



Lance Coffey
Mentor
thombrady
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 5 of 7 (765 Views)

Re: REVIT Undo Frustration

09-25-2012 09:46 AM in reply to: thombrady

Clicking the Back arrow oin the toolbar.

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 6 of 7 (746 Views)

Re: REVIT Undo Frustration

09-27-2012 01:45 PM in reply to: thombrady

There may be some customization that is related to what you are seeing. If this issue continues to occur, you could go through the following steps to clear interface customizations:
1. Rename the Revit.ini file to Revit.old. (The Revit.ini file should be automatically replaced with default values when you launch Revit again.)
2. Reset the Revit user interface.


Note: The links above are for 2013 and 2012 respectively. The information on the Revit.ini would apply to both 2013 and 2012. The information on resetting the user interface would also apply to 2013 and 2012, but in both cases you would need to slightly adjust the instructions for the version you are working with. If you are working with a version of Revit prior to 2012, the paths would be different.

I would also suggest looking at the journal file recorded when this issue happens. Find the portion recording when you click Undo, and see if there is additional information on what Revit is doing.



Lance Coffey
Mentor
thombrady
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 7 of 7 (742 Views)

Re: REVIT Undo Frustration

09-27-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: thombrady

Thanks for the input. I will pass this on to the I.T. guy as most of the stuff you are talking about is foreign to me. As I stated before it is more of a nuisance than anything else & has not happened in a while. Of course now that I say that...

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.