Revit MEP

Reply
New Member
cfields
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 1 of 5 (526 Views)

Revit Server - Cannot Lock Server

526 Views, 4 Replies
12-06-2011 07:08 AM

I'm running revit server, and revit mep versions 2012.  I want to use Revit Server 2012 Update Release 1.

 

Following instruction #3 in the readme file, I login to the server admin interface.  Click the central server at the top of the list, and press lock.  

 

About a minute goes by, and I recieve "Cannot Lock Sever.  This operation cannot be completed beacuse the server could not be locked.  Refresh the data and try again." 

 

I've verified that all users on the network are out of revit entirely.  How do I diagnoise this so I can get the update installed?

 

Product Support
fernanda.firman
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 2 of 5 (492 Views)

Re: Revit Server - Cannot Lock Server

12-13-2011 09:50 AM in reply to: cfields

I understand you want to install the Revit Server UR1 but have not being able to. Please check out the step by step in our blog:

http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/07/revit-server-2012-update-release-1.html

Hope that helps.



Fernanda Lima Firman
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help others find answers.
New Member
cfields
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 3 of 5 (470 Views)

Re: Revit Server - Cannot Lock Server

12-15-2011 06:16 AM in reply to: fernanda.firman

Fernanda, In this case the error happens at step #2.  All users are logged out of revit on the network.  I wish the autodesk server admin error message was more descriptive - this is a screencapture:

http://i44.tinypic.com/16022a8.jpg

 

Is there a process of sending log files to Autodesk for resolution of this problem?

Active Member
tgates
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 4 of 5 (448 Views)

Re: Revit Server - Cannot Lock Server

12-19-2011 09:58 AM in reply to: cfields

You might need to shut down all the local revit servers before you can lock the central revit server down. I had to do this before I could lock down the entire server.

Product Support
fernanda.firman
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎10-07-2011
Message 5 of 5 (407 Views)

Re: Revit Server - Cannot Lock Server

01-12-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: cfields

If you are still having trouble please try the following:

1. Do a search for*.lock in the projects directory and look for all non-zero files. Please confirm that these  locks do not correspond to operations in flight - i.e., they are orphaned and clear them out. Once all orphaned locks are cleared, attempt to apply the admin level lock again.

2. Make sure to install the latest RS UR, which contains an enhacement to display orphaned model level locks in admin.

Hope it works.



Fernanda Lima Firman
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help others find answers.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.