Revit MEP

Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
PMA3333
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
Message 1 of 12 (2,181 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

2181 Views, 11 Replies
10-31-2011 11:38 AM

I need to change pipe sizes to 1/2", 5/8", 3/4" or 7/8" diameter, but the program is not allowing it. 1" diameter is the smallest pipe you can change to in Properties. Does anyone know a way to do this?

Check "project units" Manage>Project Units.Common>Length>Rounding>Pick a Nearest fraction of your choice. OK out of that and check if you have fraction pipe sizes.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 12 (2,165 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

10-31-2011 12:05 PM in reply to: PMA3333

1/2" and 3/4" sizes should be included by default, at least with RMEP 2012. Verify under Manage Tab » Mechanical Settings » Pipe Settings » Sizes. Ensure that the "Used in Size Lists" box is checked.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
PMA3333
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
Message 3 of 12 (2,159 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

10-31-2011 04:26 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thanks for the Reply. I did what you suggested but the problem persists. When I draw my Copper Pipes the results are the same. The pipes sizes start at 1" and will not allow me to select or enter a size lower than that. It also will not allow me to enter a fraction even when accompanied by a whole number. Is there another setting that I am missing?

Valued Contributor
TonyVav
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 12 (2,158 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

10-31-2011 10:47 PM in reply to: PMA3333

Check "project units" Manage>Project Units.Common>Length>Rounding>Pick a Nearest fraction of your choice. OK out of that and check if you have fraction pipe sizes.

Distinguished Mentor
Jrobker
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 5 of 12 (2,142 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

11-01-2011 10:30 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

CADastrophe wrote:

1/2" and 3/4" sizes should be included by default, at least with RMEP 2012. Verify under Manage Tab » Mechanical Settings » Pipe Settings » Sizes. Ensure that the "Used in Size Lists" box is checked.



In addition to this, there are a few other things to remember.

You notice the pipe has some parameters under Mechanical called Material, connection type and class.

MAKE SURE the new size you are adding to copper matches the same connection type and class.

"It's hardware that makes a machine fast. It's software that makes a fast machine slow."

Active Member
PMA3333
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
Message 6 of 12 (2,142 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

11-01-2011 11:57 AM in reply to: TonyVav

THANKS!!! That solved the problem.

Active Member
PMA3333
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
Message 7 of 12 (2,133 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

11-01-2011 11:59 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thanks! For your imput. The information you provided will help in my setup & template.

Active Member
PMA3333
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
Message 8 of 12 (2,135 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

11-01-2011 12:01 PM in reply to: Jrobker

Thanks for your input.

Distinguished Mentor
Jrobker
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 9 of 12 (2,125 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

11-01-2011 02:23 PM in reply to: PMA3333

Your welcome

"It's hardware that makes a machine fast. It's software that makes a fast machine slow."

New Member
joansenent
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 10 of 12 (1,627 Views)

Re: Revit MEP Pipe Sizes - How to change to less than 1"D sizes?

10-16-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: Jrobker

 

Thanks for your reply.

 

How do I check that "the new size you are adding to copper matches the same connection type and class."

 

Thanks in advance.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.