Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Revit Links

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
william.nitsche
426 Views, 3 Replies

Revit Links

Hi there,

I am a Project Engineer for a MEP sub-contractor (installer). I have acess to the Architectural, Structural and MEP Revit Files. I am in charge of creating coordination drawings on this project that has already been designed and engineered.  Our scope of work falls under mechanical and plumbing. I was wondering what would be the best way to go about setting up a new Revit File in order for me to manipulate the MEP file so I can move things around that need to be coordinated with the other subs such as mechanical equipment, ducts, hydronic piping, plumbing piping and some electrical conduit and cable tray runs.

What I have started to do was opening the MEP file, since that is the one I need to be manipulating, and linking the arch and structure files. When trying to override the visibility and graphics of the two linked files, I can not manipulate any of the catagories because they are greyed out. I know this is a pretty broad description, but If anyone else has had this issue or has had this responisbility before, is there a better way than I am describing to go about setting up the new project?

Thank you for your time,

- Bil

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
CoreyDaun
in reply to: william.nitsche

Under Visibility/Graphics Overrides » Revit Links tab » Display Settings » Basics tab, you will have to set the top option to "Custom", and then go to the Model Categories tab and set the "Model categories:" pull-down to "<custom>" before you can control the V/G Overrides for a Linked Model separate from the local V/G Overrides.