Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
lsop1409
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
Message 1 of 3 (436 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit in Viewer Mode/Missing Licence

436 Views, 2 Replies
03-07-2014 01:14 AM

Revit has lost its link to the network licence and reports the error as attached.

Does anyone know how to resolve this/where to reset the licence location.

Clicking on the Revit icon ->Licencing takes me tto the attached image.

Also, does anyone know the cause of this, as it was working fine yesterday.

Thankyou.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,125
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 3 (406 Views)

Re: Revit in Viewer Mode/Missing Licence

03-07-2014 09:34 AM in reply to: lsop1409

The best thing to do is start by creating system environment variables that point to the license manager.

 

Create a new system environment variable called ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE and give it the value of @SERVERNAME.  Servername is the hostname of your actual license server.

 

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/search-result/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/How-to-specify-license-se...

 

You can also check the installation folder for the LICPATH.LIC file and modify it if the hostname of the NLM has changed. 

 

In addition, I would also make a 2nd system environment variable called FLEXLM_TIMEOUT and give it a value of 1000000 (one-million) to help increase the amount of time that the software polls the NLM. 

 

As always, verify connectivity to the NLM by pinging the server.  You should get an IPv4 address for best results.  If not, see my IPv6 fix. 

 

Here's a good reference for how the license is obtained in all these various methods, including the Windows registry:

 

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/autocad/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Use-of-...

 

Good Luck!

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Contributor
lsop1409
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
Message 3 of 3 (354 Views)

Re: Revit in Viewer Mode/Missing Licence

03-11-2014 01:21 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for the advice on here and on the licencing forum.

I opted for a full re-install.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.