Revit MEP

Reply
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 1 of 5 (379 Views)

REVIT hOST

379 Views, 4 Replies
10-16-2012 01:15 PM

i'M TRYING TO PLACE AN OUTLET AND IT KEEPS TELLING ME

Couldn't find an appropriate Host.  Try selecting a different Host Face or switch Placement Mode.

Can someone help out.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (373 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: Rick21462

We'll need a little more information, first - Is the architecture 'drawn' in your model or is it linked in from a separate model?

Are you using an "Out Of The Box" Family? If so, did you load in the family from the MEP folder or the Architectural folder?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 3 of 5 (372 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: CADastrophe
Thanks for responding back. It's a separate model I Uploaded the family from the MEP folder email LOGO Rick Passarella 200 South Wacker Dr Suite 3100 Chicago Il 60606
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 5 (362 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: Rick21462

One of the most common problems encountered is that the Family is "Wall-Hosted" which means that it will specifically require a Wall element to host to. The problem with that is, an imported link is NOT treated as a Wall. For this reason, all of the MEP elements are "Face-Based".

 

To check to see if this is indeed the cause, located the outlet family in the Project Browser, right-click on it, and select 'Edit Family'. This will open up the family definition, most likely in a 3D View. Select the "wall" that the outlet is hosted to, and at the top of the Properties Palette, does it read "Other (1)" or "Walls (1)" in the Type Selector? (see image) It should say "Other" if it's a face-based family.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 5 of 5 (358 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: CADastrophe
Thanks I'll try that email LOGO Rick Passarella 200 South Wacker Dr Suite 3100 Chicago Il 60606
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.