Revit MEP

Reply
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 1 of 5 (368 Views)

REVIT hOST

368 Views, 4 Replies
10-16-2012 01:15 PM

i'M TRYING TO PLACE AN OUTLET AND IT KEEPS TELLING ME

Couldn't find an appropriate Host.  Try selecting a different Host Face or switch Placement Mode.

Can someone help out.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (362 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: Rick21462

We'll need a little more information, first - Is the architecture 'drawn' in your model or is it linked in from a separate model?

Are you using an "Out Of The Box" Family? If so, did you load in the family from the MEP folder or the Architectural folder?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 3 of 5 (361 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: CADastrophe
Thanks for responding back. It's a separate model I Uploaded the family from the MEP folder email LOGO Rick Passarella 200 South Wacker Dr Suite 3100 Chicago Il 60606
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 5 (351 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: Rick21462

One of the most common problems encountered is that the Family is "Wall-Hosted" which means that it will specifically require a Wall element to host to. The problem with that is, an imported link is NOT treated as a Wall. For this reason, all of the MEP elements are "Face-Based".

 

To check to see if this is indeed the cause, located the outlet family in the Project Browser, right-click on it, and select 'Edit Family'. This will open up the family definition, most likely in a 3D View. Select the "wall" that the outlet is hosted to, and at the top of the Properties Palette, does it read "Other (1)" or "Walls (1)" in the Type Selector? (see image) It should say "Other" if it's a face-based family.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 5 of 5 (347 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: CADastrophe
Thanks I'll try that email LOGO Rick Passarella 200 South Wacker Dr Suite 3100 Chicago Il 60606
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!