Revit MEP

Reply
Mentor
michaelmead
Posts: 277
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 1 of 5 (290 Views)

REVIT genius needed!

290 Views, 4 Replies
11-16-2012 11:20 AM

Question 1: how do you add paramaters to ducts and pipes?

Question 2: Is there a way to add a distance from gridline paramater to duct/pipe centerlines? (in doing so calculate an angle between the duct/pipe and the gridline if it is not parallel to the called out gridline?

 

Note: Revit basically does this already, if levels were gridlines. It calculates slope, and elevation above a reference level. I want a feature exactly the same except the reference is only vertical (grid) not horizontal (level).

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,214
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (284 Views)

Re: REVIT genius needed!

11-16-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: michaelmead
I'm no "Revit Genius", but perhaps I can help? #1: You must add them as Project Parameters, which is located on the Manage tab. #2: I don't believe that's at all possible. What exactly are you aiming to accomplish? Why is the "horizontal slope" important?
Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
michaelmead
Posts: 277
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 3 of 5 (280 Views)

Re: REVIT genius needed!

11-16-2012 12:04 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

I am just trying to add intrinsic parameters to the ducts to that I dont have to dimension everything on the plans for the field guys to be able to build it. I could just write a special tag. then use the tag all feature. (However we want to get away from plans altogether)

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,214
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 5 (211 Views)

Re: REVIT genius needed!

11-19-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: michaelmead

The only contribution I can provide is to mention Spot Coordinate Tags. I know that's not what you're looking for, but I think it may the best Revit can do.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Product Support
lanl
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
Message 5 of 5 (168 Views)

Re: REVIT genius needed!

11-21-2012 06:18 PM in reply to: michaelmead

 Hi michaelmead,

 

You can add project parameters for ducts and pipes under Manage tab- -Project Parameter, but you can't set Formula for them, and they will not be related to any dimension or parameter, so these parameters will not get the dimension information automatically as you mentioned.

 

You can try to check in Revit API group to see if this can be done by some programming.

 

Thanks.

 



Lei Lan
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.