Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
MikeMaloney
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎07-09-2012
Message 1 of 3 (287 Views)

Pipe Settings dialog vs Pipe Systems

287 Views, 2 Replies
09-12-2012 12:43 PM

Is this correct, or am I missing something...........My Mech Piping Team's have created new Piping Systems based on the Default Pipe Systems, and they are not showing up in the Mech Settings for Pipe Dialogue box............they would really like to create Pipe systems based on certain Pipe Types/Size ranges, i.e., 1/2" to 2-1/2" sizes for a system would use one type of pipe, and everything over 2-1/2" would us another...........we want to setup the System in the Setting box, but the new customs ones are getting picked up.  Have we expected to much?

 

Mike

Mike Maloney
BIM Design Automation Coordinator
CH2M Hill
Valued Mentor
julianjameson8403
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎06-16-2010
Message 2 of 3 (262 Views)

Re: Pipe Settings dialog vs Pipe Systems

09-13-2012 04:19 AM in reply to: MikeMaloney

2012 or 2013 - from your screen shot I'm guessing 2013.

The section you are in is for setting default offsets for main runs and branches when using the auto-route tool.

If I understand your task correctly, I think you are trying to do as per the attachment (the example is just for illustration and is UK based)

The piping settings are for the default systems and pipe family materials/sizes

The pipe systems are for setting the calculation parameters and graphical over-rides.

The pipe families allow you to set the pipe materials created in the mechanical setttings with relevant fittings (with the 2013 addition of allowing you to have multiple sizes/fittings/materials in a piping installation as in real life).

 

If my reply answers your query, please use the Accept as Solution.
Please give Kudos as appropriate to enhance the value of these forums.

Thank you!
Contributor
MikeMaloney
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎07-09-2012
Message 3 of 3 (259 Views)

Re: Pipe Settings dialog vs Pipe Systems

09-13-2012 04:53 AM in reply to: julianjameson8403

Firstly Julian, you are correct...2013.

 

Secondly, This is precisely one of two things we wnat to do regarding 'defaults' for the various systems they created......"stock' Hydronic Supply is at 9'0" (US) Elev default, whereas a Chilled Water Supply-Copper, BASED on a stock Hydronic to be created, may be 12'0".....AND for copper sizes UP TO 2" only, then Chilled Water Supply-CSBW50 (CarbonStell-Butt Weld, Sched 50) for 2-1/2" and up at 12'0"......but as you cani the settings pulldown, we only see the "Stock" systems, not our new additional ones also.  And this would set up the same for the other NON-STOCK Systems.

 

Does that make sense?

 

Mike

Mike Maloney
BIM Design Automation Coordinator
CH2M Hill
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.