Revit MEP

Reply
Member
robertelafond
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Message 1 of 7 (600 Views)

Pipe fittings being removed from Model Groups

600 Views, 6 Replies
07-24-2012 05:08 AM

I am using the model groups that were set up by the Architect.  After drawing a pipe layout in the model group and clicking the "Finish" button, I receive the attached error message.  

 

Essentionallly, Revit is telling me that the pipe fitting are being remove out of the group and into the project. This would be fine, but if I needed to update the layout, these fitting are no longer included in the model group.

 

I have tried to restore the "excluded" elements, but I am told that not all elements were restored.  I have tried to go back into the edit mode and add the excluded fittings back into the group. That was also unsuccessful in resolving the problem. 

 

Anybody got any ideas?

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 2 of 7 (593 Views)

Re: Pipe fittings being removed from Model Groups

07-24-2012 06:11 AM in reply to: robertelafond

I am using the model groups that were set up by the Architect.

 

Why would they be setup by the architect and not by you?  You'd have to go more into detail as what you're trying to do and in which file you're working in (the architect's or your own).  I've never seen that warning before, but I rarely use groups and don't see them being flexible enough for piping unless you know that segments of piping are exactly the same for easier modification (to one that changes them all).  Also, connecting to a group of piping might create a union between new separate pipe and group.

Member
robertelafond
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Message 3 of 7 (589 Views)

Re: Pipe fittings being removed from Model Groups

07-24-2012 06:34 AM in reply to: Sandleaz

Let me clarify.  I copied the model groups from the architectural file(after cleaning them up) and pasted the groups into my file. I have the architectural file linked in.

 

The project is an apartment complex. The model groups are a stack of identical bedroom count floorplans. So using models groups to layout the piping systems is beneficial.

 

I am willing to accept the unions for right now. A possible solution that I have yet to try is to nest the individual unit model groups into a model group of the stacked floors. That way I only have to model the riser types once and they will be replicated throughout the project.

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 4 of 7 (585 Views)

Re: Pipe fittings being removed from Model Groups

07-24-2012 06:55 AM in reply to: robertelafond

I copied the model groups from the architectural file(after cleaning them up) and pasted the groups into my file. I have the architectural file linked in.

 

I would have avoided that if that was possible. If you're copying/pasting families from another file, it might create duplicates of your pipe fittings or pipe types if they're already in your file --- you might have gotten a message saying that those copied/pasted families were renamed (with maybe a "1" at the end of the name). 

 

 

Member
robertelafond
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Message 5 of 7 (582 Views)

Re: Pipe fittings being removed from Model Groups

07-24-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: Sandleaz

The reason for copying the model groups was only the they lined up with architectural model groups.  I deleted the walls and furniture on order to not have duplicated instances in my model group.

 

The only thing that was included in the architectural model groups was model lines outlining the floor plan layout. I needed to keep something in the model group in order for them to remain a group.

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 6 of 7 (565 Views)

Re: Pipe fittings being removed from Model Groups

07-26-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: robertelafond

I tried creating a new project in Revit Architecture, drew some model lines, created a group, saved the group, loaded the group into Revit MEP and then edited it and added pipes with fittings, and I did not see the fitting excluded from the group.

I am thinking there is something about the group you are working with that is causing the error.

To narrow down the issue, I would suggest going through the following steps:

  1. In the original project (with the model group setup by the architect), ungroup an instance of the original group.
  2. With the previously grouped items still selected, click Manage -> Ids of Selection.
  3. Copy the element IDs from the Element IDs of Selection dialog, and paste them into a text document.
    Note: You can use these element IDs, to ensure that all elements are re-added to the group during testing.
  4. Select two model lines and create a new group.
  5. Save the new group to a file.
  6. Load the group (RVT) file into your Revit MEP project.
  7. Edit the group and add two pipes with one fitting (between the two pipes).
  8. Finish editing the group.


If you can't reproduce the error with the simple pipes, try creating more elaborate pipes in the group.

If you can't reproduce the error with the same type of pipes as with the previous group, start adding in elements from the original group, until you find the specific item in the group that was causing the error.

If you can reproduce the error with the simple pipes, try loading the group into a new Revit MEP project.

If you can reproduce the error with the simple pipes in a new project, try creating a new architectural project draw a few model lines, and go through steps 5-8 above.



Lance Coffey
Member
jsong
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-26-2012
Message 7 of 7 (564 Views)

Re: Pipe fittings being removed from Model Groups

07-26-2012 02:50 PM in reply to: Lance.Coffey
Thank you very much for your reply, I will let our team tries your suggestion. Truly appreciated.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.