Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oval offset not working?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
319 Views, 5 Replies

Oval offset not working?

I have spent several hours trying to connect an Oval duct transition to a linear diffuser with a connection on the negative Z-axis.  Do I need to place the diffuser in the vertical and connect the transition and then rotate to horizontal?  I am fairly new to revit MEP, I know Revit Architecture but that does not have any of the MEP stuff in it.  I think I am doing it right; pick the transition > try to place it on the diffuser oval connection (in the vertical, the opening faces the ceiling) on to the diffuser opening but they never connect. 

What am I missing in this situation?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
HVAC-Novice
in reply to: Anonymous

I struggled with a similar issue for round ellbow connected to a diffuser. What helps is to have a 3D-view open next to your floor/ceiling view to navigate.

I attached my ellbow in ceiling view (so I see the diffuser connectors) and then you can pikc it and rotate. The rotate buttons only work in 90°, but you can rotate any angle with the rotate tool.

I found it hard to select the ellbow once installed since it is smaller than my diffuser, so you want to rotate when you place it.

I'm not sure if this applies to your oval transition... transition to what, rectanglular? Is the linear diffuser oval, or do you use oval duct?

hope this helps.

Revit version: R2024.2
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: HVAC-Novice

I was trying to attach an oval to round transition, the oval end attaches to the slot diffuser and the other to the system.