Revit MEP

Revit MEP

Reply
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 1 of 11 (307 Views)
Accepted Solution

OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

307 Views, 10 Replies
11-08-2013 03:45 PM

Saw other threads that are similar to my issue but not exactly.  I want my receptacles to report the room name and number.  Trying to set it up to eventually be a way of doing a simple take off.  In my schedule I used the Room: Name and Room Number: parameters that belong to revit.  Another words they are not shared parameters.   Even though my room, space and heights of space are correct, it will not report the Out of the Box receptacles. When I try my light fixtures, the Room:name and Room:Number report perfectly.  So it seems an issue with the receptacles, not my room.  Even when I place the receptacle in the middle of the room (not in wall), the room info will not report.  I went into the type of family its set to and its set to electrical fixtures.  Electrical fixtures should be able to report room and space info.

Please help enlighten me as to where I am going wrong or not thinking of.  Many thanks.

Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 2 of 11 (261 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-10-2013 11:46 PM in reply to: RedMan77
Hi,

Not sure if this is your problem, but check the calculation point in the family. It may be above the receptacle, which means it is above the room boundaries and will not be read by the room.

Hope this solves your problem.

Regards,
Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 3 of 11 (242 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-11-2013 05:27 PM in reply to: RedMan77

Appreciate the response but I am positive the receptacle is within the room boundary.  Thanks though.

Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 4 of 11 (231 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-12-2013 01:04 AM in reply to: RedMan77
Hi,

You're welcome. But again let me mention, it does not matter if the receptacle itself is in the room. The calculation point in the family should be located in the room. Sometimes the calculation points are above the elements, and the room is below the element so the room will not read that the element belongs to it. Hope this solves your problem.

Regards,

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 5 of 11 (220 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-12-2013 07:42 AM in reply to: AJA14

Are you in 2013 or 2014? Room calculation points for electrical fixtures weren't added until 2014.

 

I just tried a sample electrical fixture schedule in 2014 and was able to populate it with Family Type, Circuit Number, Space Name and Space Number without modifying the OOTB family. Hmm.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,214
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 11 (214 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-12-2013 09:00 AM in reply to: RedMan77

Are you trying to reference the Rooms from a linked architectural model? If so, are you certain that your Light Fixture Schedule is reading the linked model's Room info and not just the Space's Name and Number?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 7 of 11 (209 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-12-2013 09:13 AM in reply to: abulla

thanks for ther responses.

 

I am in 2014. 

I am not using a linked arch model.

 

Maybe I am misunderstanding then as it relates to the calcualtion point.  I went into the family editor and there was a check box under other, called Room Calcualtion Point that wasnt checked.  I checked this box and reloaded and there was no change.  Still not reporting.  There are no filters on the schedule.  Receptacles are at 18" A.F.F. and they are within the confines of the space/ room.  The room parameters Room: Name and Room: Number are what I am trying to report room information.  I also tried space name/ number.

 

I am sure after hearing some of you that I must be missing something so simple.  Again I can create a light fixture in the room, like a scone or a 2x4 and the fixtures are reporting the room name and number, just not receptacles ion my electrical fixture schedule.

Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 8 of 11 (207 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-12-2013 09:18 AM in reply to: RedMan77

I attached a screen shot of my recept highlighted.  You can see the room calcualtion point .  Hope this helps.

Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 9 of 11 (199 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-12-2013 10:09 AM in reply to: RedMan77
Hi,

Is the calculation point above or below the receptacle. Try changing the location and reload. Drag it to the other side.

Regards,



Sent from my iPhone
Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 10 of 11 (195 Views)

Re: OOTB receptacles not reporting room name or room number

11-12-2013 10:58 AM in reply to: AJA14

Mystery solved!  Got a bit of help from Revitforum that solved my issue.  In the scehdule view I had phase set to project completion.  As soon as I set it to New construction, all the receptacles instantly appeared.  Thanks for everyone lending a hand. 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.