Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
radams
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
Message 1 of 16 (3,938 Views)
Accepted Solution

Omni Class Numbers

3938 Views, 15 Replies
03-26-2012 03:30 PM

I have a Gas & Diesl Generator Set. Want to provide the appropriate OmniClass Number and Title.

 

OmniClass Table 23 indicates the number should be 23-35.11.15.

Revit inidcates the number should be 23-80.10.11.

 

Please help explain how to resolve this type of discrepancy.

Additionally, how do you add numbers and title that are not currently available within Revit.

You can edit the file shown below to modify and add OmniClass Numbers and Titles as required.

 

C: \ Program Files \ Autodesk \ Revit MEP 2012 \ OmniClassTaxonomy.txt

I am not very familiar with this, but I've seen mention of the OmniClass numbers being wrong in Revit, but I don't know much else.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 16 (3,930 Views)

Re: Omni Class Numbers

03-27-2012 05:58 AM in reply to: radams

You can edit the file shown below to modify and add OmniClass Numbers and Titles as required.

 

C: \ Program Files \ Autodesk \ Revit MEP 2012 \ OmniClassTaxonomy.txt

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
radams
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
Message 3 of 16 (3,905 Views)

Re: Omni Class Numbers

03-30-2012 09:36 AM in reply to: radams

Thanks. FIle location appears to be "C:\Program Files\Autodesk Revit MEP 2010\Program"

 

Do you know the reason for the discrepancy with the Omniclass Numbers?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 16 (3,900 Views)

Re: Omni Class Numbers

03-30-2012 10:01 AM in reply to: radams

I am not very familiar with this, but I've seen mention of the OmniClass numbers being wrong in Revit, but I don't know much else.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Contributor
al.armiger
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 5 of 16 (3,614 Views)

Re: Omni Class Numbers

08-27-2012 10:43 PM in reply to: radams

There is a link here : https://getsatisfaction.com/seek/topics/omniclass_coding_disparity

that discusses this, apparently the codes are based on an old draft version. We may find that to many libraries now have the wrong codes embedded in them to allow for the change of the provided txt files.

 

If Autodesk is listening perhaps they should build an update function into the supplied update families script. This function could remap the current codes to the latest omniclass codes? It may have to be a second parameter gets added as there will be users out there with code based around the current parameter and values.

 

Someone out there may have a good solution to this if so am all ears on this one as the current option of using defunct numbers has no relevance in a "BIM" authoring software. IMO

 

Or am I just missing the point?

Member
pixldust
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 6 of 16 (3,511 Views)

Re: Omni Class Numbers

10-10-2012 05:43 PM in reply to: radams

PLEASE HELP

 

In the OmniClasstaxonomy.txt file there are a series of numbers after the text description such as:

23.85.80.11.24 Environmental Controls 4 -2001140
23.85.80.11.27 Lighting Controls 4 -2008087

 

In order to update to 2010 OmniClass... what significance do these numbers represent and what do you recommend to do to handle this.. re updating?

 

 I will attach the txt file for your review. for you

Contributor
al.armiger
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 7 of 16 (3,507 Views)

Re: Omni Class Numbers

10-10-2012 06:03 PM in reply to: pixldust

The first number, as in the 4 in this case, shows the depth of the classification beyond the top of table 23:

 

e.g. 23.10 is 1, 23.10.05 is 2, 23.10.05.10 is 3, etc

 

The next number, as in -2000151 refers to the Revit category that is applicable to this sort of element.

 

-2000151 = Generic models

-2000011 = Walls

 

I am unaware of any reference detailing this list of numbers and corresponding categorys but if you leave it blank it shouldn't cause issues, even with the incorrect value to the actual family category there seems to be no issues in some very limited testing.

Member
pixldust
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 8 of 16 (3,246 Views)

Re: 2010 Omni Class Numbers

12-28-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: al.armiger

I got my hands on a 2010 omniclasstaxonomy.txt file and it does not work..... the description does not show in revit 12 or 11

Can anyone tech it and find out why?

The negative numbers do not exist

Thanks guys!!

Steven

Contributor
al.armiger
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 9 of 16 (3,183 Views)

Re: 2010 Omni Class Numbers

01-06-2013 05:33 PM in reply to: pixldust

Pixidust,

 

Are you replacing the correct file?

 

I replaced the file in C:\Users\<Username>\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\Revit\Autodesk Revit 2013 with the file from your link and it works fine in Revit 2013. Attached image shows your OmniClassTaxonomy.txt file within Revit.

 

Note if you are using this file and any Revit families that referenced the original file there will be no Omniclass title as there is no corresponding Omniclass number.

 

Regards,

 

Al

Valued Contributor
cve60069
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Message 10 of 16 (1,935 Views)

Re: 2010 Omni Class Numbers

12-01-2013 02:28 AM in reply to: al.armiger

Hello

 

I have just read the above debate and am trying to classify my own omniclass numbers.

 

Would it not be possible to write a program that would read the csv of the omniclass spreadsheet and write it into a Revit format; or maybe have a second omniclass 'lookup' as an add-in.  You could have two omniclass files. The one Revit needs to classify walls and the 'proper' one.  If a disparity is found, then the addin could update the Revit file.

 

How much did this software cost?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.