Revit MEP

Reply
*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 357
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 11 of 24 (363 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 07:04 AM in reply to: MikeSavko6811

That's probably the lookup table problem with the revit.ini file that jseck mentioned earlier. Open up the revit.ini file located at:

 

C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\Revit\Autodesk Revit MEP 2013

 

and look for the line LookupTableLocation=

 

Make sure your lookup tables are located at whatever location this line is pointing to.

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 12 of 24 (359 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: MikeSavko6811

Anywho, the background that I have is a 4-day training class

 

Most likely, that was useless.  I remember a couple day class where the instructor showed us (and strongly recommended us to use) REVIT's ability to autoroute ductwork and piping --- absolute garbage unless you find it entertaining.  Remember your instructor might never have created a single drawing in his/her life and has no real world experience.

 

there are some things that I'm unsure of how to do.

 

You should probably change that "some" to "a lot of".

 

 If I do a 1" run, the pipe is bigger in diameter than that of the fittings, and it looks gray as if it were just the generic or steel pipe. I'm not sure where the look-up table exists for these pipes and how to make proper changes.

 

There is no lookup table for pipes.  They are in the MEP settings as jseck pointed out.  Gray is the default color in REVIT.  You can color anything any color you want (see my colorful pipes below).

 

I've got 2013 and though there is Copper Type L, M, K pipes in there, the fittings don't exist.

 

:smileysad:

 

The second issue is I'm in need of making strut (uni-strut, 1-5/8" x 1-5/8") for building rack systems. Here is the link to a .pdf of the size we are using:http://www.powerstrut.com/ps200pdf/ps200.pdf . I'm clueless as to how to actually give this profile some intelligence and be able to draw it in lengths as if it were a piece of channel or angle like what the software comes with. I drew the profile in CAD and thought maybe importing the sketch would work best  

 

It's a fairly easy family to create.  You don't need to import a CAD file into your REVIT family to create this (but you could, it would make the file larger).  You go to big purple R on the top left corner ---> new ---> family.  Select a template to start out in --- you can change the category of the family in the family editor.  I would create either a sweep or an extrusion ... the profile would be as shown in the powerstrut catalog and the length should be an instance parameter.  

 

but again, I never had schooling on this part.  

 

Neither have I.  I've learned REVIT via projects, trial/error, and simply messing around with REVIT.

 

Mechanical Settings.jpg

 

Tetrahedron.jpg

Powerstrut Channel.jpg

 

 

 

  

Contributor
MikeSavko6811
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 13 of 24 (352 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: Sandleaz

Sandleaz wrote:

there are some things that I'm unsure of how to do.

 

You should probably change that "some" to "a lot of".

 

 If I do a 1" run, the pipe is bigger in diameter than that of the fittings, and it looks gray as if it were just the generic or steel pipe. I'm not sure where the look-up table exists for these pipes and how to make proper changes.

 

There is no lookup table for pipes.  They are in the MEP settings as jseck pointed out.  Gray is the default color in REVIT.  You can color anything any color you want (see my colorful pipes below).


I hope you slapped your own knee at that joke. -__- Ofcourse, but "some" just prefaced the items I was having trouble with. I've been using Revit for a couple days, I'm not fooling anyone here.

 

Where exactly is the color option for pipes? Is it based off the system you draw in? I faintly remember this from class, but couldn't find anything in the properties menu when you select an individual pipe segment.

 

Thank you btw for the rest of your explanations. I'll see how far along I can get with that.

Valued Contributor
RandMan
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 14 of 24 (347 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: Sandleaz

I downloaded the Nibco fitting and saved its lookup table in the proper location.  I made a new pipe-type, and edited its routing preferences for the Nibco elbow.  I was only able to draw 2 1/2" and 3" pipe with elbows.  All other sizes failed. 

 

I drew another pipe-type that uses the generic fittings . . . no problem.  I compared the csv files of the two fittings.  Take a look at this screen-cap, and tell me why the Nibco can only handle two sizes, yet the generic works between .125" and 72".

*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 357
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 15 of 24 (343 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: RandMan

Whoever made that lookup table from Nibco is responsible. This is a good example of why we as users should be cautious when using manufacturer content. You can add more sizes manually if you want, and that should fix the fittings.

Contributor
MikeSavko6811
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 16 of 24 (336 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: RandMan

ran wrote:

I downloaded the Nibco fitting and saved its lookup table in the proper location.  I made a new pipe-type, and edited its routing preferences for the Nibco elbow.  I was only able to draw 2 1/2" and 3" pipe with elbows.  All other sizes failed. 

 

I drew another pipe-type that uses the generic fittings . . . no problem.  I compared the csv files of the two fittings.  Take a look at this screen-cap, and tell me why the Nibco can only handle two sizes, yet the generic works between .125" and 72".


That's strange because I just now figured out my issue and got all the sizes to work properly. I had the look up tables for the press fittings in the library with the .rfa files. I moved all the excel files over to the lookup table folder and restarted Revit. Now they all draw properly sized!!

Valued Contributor
RandMan
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 17 of 24 (323 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 08:42 AM in reply to: MikeSavko6811

What fittings did you download?  My response pertained to Nibco model # PC607-2-LT.  Just now, I downloaded Nibco model # PC607-LT.  That table included a 4" size. 

Contributor
MikeSavko6811
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 18 of 24 (317 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 08:49 AM in reply to: RandMan

ran wrote:

What fittings did you download?  My response pertained to Nibco model # PC607-2-LT.  Just now, I downloaded Nibco model # PC607-LT.  That table included a 4" size. 


Oops on "accepting as solution." Hopefully that doesn't destroy the thread haha.

 

Anywho, I downloaded all of those nibco fittings from seek, and the ones I just tested were the PC607-LT, which are press x press, so a normal press 90. I downloaded the zip files that included the .rfa and type catalog. Everything is there as it should be.

Valued Contributor
RandMan
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 19 of 24 (305 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: MikeSavko6811

I had (by chance) downloaded a different fitting (the long-radius elbow) and got a different result.  When I downloaded the PC6-6-2_PC607-2, I got yet another csv file.  That file has a range from 1/2" to 4" (not yet sure why they setup the table with duplicates).  If I were to try to draw an 8" pipe with this elbow, the elbow would appear small. 

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 20 of 24 (282 Views)

Re: New RMEP User, need assistance with pipes & new items

12-20-2012 03:26 PM in reply to: RandMan

Where exactly is the color option for pipes? Is it based off the system you draw in? I faintly remember this from class, but couldn't find anything in the properties menu when you select an individual pipe segment.

 

Colors, line weights... are based on the view, not on the individual families themselves.  You can have different views showing the same pipes differently.  See example below of the same pipes shown in different 3D views.

 

T1.jpgT2.jpgT4.jpg

 

Here are some common ways to change the appearance of something:

  • Visibility/Graphic Overrides ---> Model Tab
  • Visibility/Graphic Overrides ---> Filters Tab  
  • Object Styles (under the manage tab or through V/G Overrides command button "Object Styles" in Model Tab)
  • Right Click Element ---> Override Graphics In View
  • Color Scheme (View Properties grouped under "Graphics")
  • System Color Scheme (View Properties grouped under "Graphics")

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.