Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nested Families vs Assemblies

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
smbrennan
2071 Views, 3 Replies

Nested Families vs Assemblies

Ok I'm new to Revit development, so please bare with me here as I stumble my way through.

I am trying to create a family with interchangable parts (at the moment I'm trying nested families). However, I want every family to have limitations based on other components (If one family type is this, then this family type must be one of these types). I want every instance of this family to have full flexibility. I also want every part to be schedulable, not only into a BOM, but also an "assembly schedule."

Also, the 3D gemoetry is not critical for this. It would be nice to eventually get a visual representation, but I'm sure processing power will be limited, as there can be several hundred of these nested families in a single project.

Where I'm stumped, is trying to determine the best method to do this. I've read obout nested families with Shared parameters, I read about assemblies. I've also thought about making a generic family with parametetrs that via text fields call out the different components.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

Shawn B.

||    
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to Vote for ideas and submit your own.
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
CoreyDaun
in reply to: smbrennan

Could you provide an example, including what additional options you would want to restrict?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────