Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NEED HELP NOW!!

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
brian.dougherty
1503 Views, 6 Replies

NEED HELP NOW!!

I'm a student working on m final project. I am having some type of issue with installing certain lights. For some reason recessed can lights and general idustrial type lights will not let me place them in my project. Below is a screen shot. you can see the light, but it won't move and the mouse icon is a cirle with a line across it, saying not allowed. I've tried every view, changed cut plane, turned on all graphics, and nothing. It won't even give me the option to place on face. Does anyone know what i can do?

Thanks.

revit mep pic.png

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
RandMan
in reply to: brian.dougherty

Where did you get the light fixture family?  Seems like it should work, if it came frome the Imperial Lib.  If it is custom, you'll have to open the family to troubleshoot.  What are you trying to host it from, a level, a ceiling?  When this type of thing happens to me, I isolate my intended host in that view, and try again.

Message 3 of 7

I pulled in the Pendant Light - Linear - 2 Lamp fixture into a simple model. I too got the "international no" symbol (circle with a line through it) but only while my cursor was outside my ceiling grid. As soon as I hovered over the ceiling, the fixture appeared and I was able to place it.

So, I'd say this family requires a ceiling to host it.  Maybe create a ceiling off to the side (or in a blank model) and try adding the light fixture there. If that works, you know it's not a visibility thing, but something related to your ceiling.

FYI, lights can't host to ceiling grids in a linked model. If that's the case, you'll need to create one in the same file as the light fixture.

Good luck!

AJ

Message 4 of 7
asommer