Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
jonathanroy8675
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 1 of 17 (443 Views)
Accepted Solution

Multiple filters and Clearances

443 Views, 16 Replies
10-30-2012 12:22 PM

Hi,

 

I have a mechanical equipment filtered to a brown color. Can I filter the Clearances in that family to a dashed red line? I've been bashing my head on this problem for a while and can't seem to find the solution... didn't find and help on the web either...

 

I have a Clearance Subcategory, a Material for the Clearances and a Yes/No on their Visibility.

 

Thanks,

Jonathan

Active Contributor
tim.winnington
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 2 of 17 (422 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-30-2012 11:10 PM in reply to: jonathanroy8675

Depending on construction of the family but you should be able to override line style within subcategory.  Tested on a family I have and worked.

 

If you post the family would assist with testing for a solution.

Contributor
jonathanroy8675
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 3 of 17 (406 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-31-2012 05:53 AM in reply to: tim.winnington

Hi Tim,

 

The problem isn't get the right line style in the subcategory wihich I've done and it's working, it's getting the the dashed line to appear Red according to my second "Clearances" Filter, instead of brown according to my first "Mechanical Equipment" filter.

 

Thanks for your time,

Jonathan

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,223
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 17 (402 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-31-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: jonathanroy8675

If you are using View Filters to set the Graphics, then the entire family will be affected, as you are currently seeing. I've tested this before, and even if the clearance is an embedded Generic Model and another View Filter is created that affect Generic Models, it will fail because View Filters cannot "reach into" the Family to affect the subcomponents.

 

Can you expand a bit on what you are ultimately trying to achieve? What is intended by the brown color bestowed upon the mechanical equipment?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Contributor
jonathanroy8675
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 5 of 17 (395 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-31-2012 06:39 AM in reply to: jonathanroy8675

My objective is to have my different equipment in my system standout from the ductwork. Maybe it's still my Autocad way of doing things? Don't most Revit users try to do this? Or do you let everything in a system turn to the system color? In my case, blue.

Thanks, though, for confirming about being unable to "reach into" the Family to affect the subcomponents.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,223
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 17 (388 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-31-2012 07:07 AM in reply to: jonathanroy8675

Well, Mechanical Equipment that is connect to more than a single System (Duct and/or Pipe) will not be affected by the System's graphical overrides. Do you have any Mechanical Equipment that will require the clearance AND only be connected into a single System? If this is the case, you can modify your View Filter's Rule to:" System Classification does not contain , " as the comma is used as a separator when multiple Systems are listed.

 

On a side note, the color of the clearance lines will not affect the printed lineweight. That will still obey normal settings unless specifically overridden.

 

Edit: Revised "System Name" to "System Classification"

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Contributor
jonathanroy8675
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 7 of 17 (386 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-31-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Sorry, not quite shure I understand your explanation. Can you post an example print screen?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,223
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 17 (378 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-31-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: jonathanroy8675

I'm unsure of which point you'd like an example of, so here's both:


CADastrophe wrote:

"Well, Mechanical Equipment that is connect to more than a single System (Duct and/or Pipe) will not be affected by the System's graphical overrides..."


 The image below is an example using the basic "Out Of The Box" AHU Family in Revit MEP 2013.

 

SystemOverride.JPG

 


CADastrophe wrote:

"Do you have any Mechanical Equipment that will require the clearance AND only be connected into a single System? If this is the case, you can modify your View Filter's Rule to:" System Classification does not contain , " as the comma is used as a separator when multiple Systems are listed."


 If the Mechanical Equipment has a single Classification of a Connector (i.e. just Supply Air), then the following Filter will affect only these Families.

 

ViewFilterSystem.JPG

 

How important is it to you that these clearances appear red? As I said, it won't affect how it prints, and won't the Line Pattern adequately indicate that it's a clearance zone?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Contributor
jonathanroy8675
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 9 of 17 (372 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-31-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thanks alot Tim!

I now understand why the equipment turned black when I connected my Steam pipe to it...

I think I'll leave the Clearances as is.

 

Thanks again for your time!

Jonathan

Active Member
armando
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-31-2011
Message 10 of 17 (365 Views)

Re: Multiple filters and Clearances

10-31-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: jonathanroy8675

The way to do this is to draw detail lines for the clearance, inside of the Family Editor on Ref Level, Front and Left Elevations. Make sure they are detail lines, sometimes Revit still wants to draw model lines and pick a work plane, you might just have to do this and then use 'Convert Lines" to convert them to detail lines. If you simply hover over the line it will tell you if it is a Detail or Model line. Assign them to the subcategory you have created. If you need the actual clearance Box as an extrusion as well for clashing, make sure all the visibility settings are off in all plan and elevation views, it should only be visible in 3d. The issue you are having is, any geometry you have inside of the family will take on the Filter color, which is why you need to make the Clearance Box invisible in all plan and elevation/section views and use the detail lines to represent the clearance box. Then you can have the filters override the default system colors regardless of how many systems are connected to it and have it display with the color you want and still have the clerance displayed as how you set in your Object Styles inside of your project.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.