Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
coopert
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 1 of 4 (254 Views)
Accepted Solution

MEP Clearance box for cash detection in Navisworks

254 Views, 3 Replies
09-26-2013 06:29 AM

Is there something within the MEP Revit (also applies to Arch for door swings) that allows a designer to put in clearance requirements for electrical panel box, instrument panels, havc coil pull areas, etc. for clash detetction inside navisworks?  This is neccessary for us for our piping group that models in plant 3d.

 

Regards,

Tim

No, there is nothing that is automatically built into the program. Most of the elements (i.e. Casework, Mechanical Equipment, Doors, etc.) are separate files (Families) that are loaded into a Project, so everything is highly customizable. Anyone can take any of the OOTB ("Out Of The Box") content and modify it to suit their needs.

 

There is no way that Revit could automatically determine clearances - it cannot recognize "This is a door, this it the axis in swings on, this is how far it opens, so here is the clearance" by itself. The use must build these clearances into the Family as needed.

*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 2 of 4 (242 Views)

Re: MEP Clearance box for cash detection in Navisworks

09-26-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: coopert
Sure, you can model clearance areas as solids within the family. We assign a glass material to clearance areas with a red dashed linetype, so the clearance areas show up transparent in 3d views.
Contributor
coopert
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 3 of 4 (225 Views)

Re: MEP Clearance box for cash detection in Navisworks

09-26-2013 11:48 AM in reply to: abulla

Okay, but there is nothing that is built-in to the program that would allow you to build in clearance when you create the cabinet, etc.?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,420
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (195 Views)

Re: MEP Clearance box for cash detection in Navisworks

09-27-2013 06:47 AM in reply to: coopert

No, there is nothing that is automatically built into the program. Most of the elements (i.e. Casework, Mechanical Equipment, Doors, etc.) are separate files (Families) that are loaded into a Project, so everything is highly customizable. Anyone can take any of the OOTB ("Out Of The Box") content and modify it to suit their needs.

 

There is no way that Revit could automatically determine clearances - it cannot recognize "This is a door, this it the axis in swings on, this is how far it opens, so here is the clearance" by itself. The use must build these clearances into the Family as needed.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.