Revit MEP

Reply
New Member
Junereth
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 1 of 8 (339 Views)
Accepted Solution

Lookup table for text

339 Views, 7 Replies
04-07-2014 06:20 PM

I'm using Revit 2014, and would like to know if it's possible to make a lookup table that contains text that can be returned to my family? At the moment, I've got a functional lookup table that allows my family to be completely resized based on data from the .csv.

 

The idea I had was to be able to make one single rfa file to accomodate all the different model sizes so that we didn't need multiple files for each model in the series. Now, my family can be loaded into a project and be edited on the fly (e.g. change the outlet size and the appropriate model is made). 

 

I want to take this further by allowing the different sizes to correspond to their appropriate model names and other details (voltage, phase etc). This part of my plan is to allow this data to be produced automatically along with the model upon resizing, so that whoever's working on the project doesn't have to manually pull out a product catalogue to check all the information (hence making my efforts so far pretty much worthless). So right now, what I'm trying to do is to see if the Lookup table can be used to return the model name, i.e. a text string?

 

For example, if A=1, then Model Name = "Mod", where "Mod" is taken directly from a table (so that I don't need to make a million nested IF statements to check the model name based on the value of A). Is this at all possible in Revit 2014? Another thing is if this can work, can that information be put into a schedule?

Hi Mate,

 

I am trying to do same thing with Air terminal and it read Type S1/S2..... basend on flow value and at same size it change size based on flow value but unfortunately Revit can't read text value.

 

Active Member
jigar.wsp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-13-2013
Message 2 of 8 (313 Views)

Re: Lookup table for text

04-07-2014 11:26 PM in reply to: Junereth

Hi Mate,

 

I am trying to do same thing with Air terminal and it read Type S1/S2..... basend on flow value and at same size it change size based on flow value but unfortunately Revit can't read text value.

 

New Member
Junereth
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 3 of 8 (275 Views)

Re: Lookup table for text

04-08-2014 06:02 PM in reply to: jigar.wsp
that's a shame, i really thought this feature would be included. It would make producing the project models so much faster and easier when the right family is made and used :/ and it makes the quantity surveyors happy too

Is there a suggestion box for revit to submit this request, assuming it hasn't already been done a million and fourteen times?
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 8 (257 Views)

Re: Lookup table for text

04-09-2014 05:10 AM in reply to: Junereth

The link below is frequently provided by Autodesk Support personnel here. Also, perhaps consider participating in the AUGI Wish List system.



Autodesk Product Support

The following link is setup for you to submit feature requests, or feedback, directly to our Development group:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794


Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 5 of 8 (127 Views)

Re: Lookup table for text

07-18-2014 11:42 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

So it's not possible to use a text string for the LOOKUP - but what about the return? 

 

I'm trying to do a lookup table looking at Electrical Current Value - and dependent on that numerical value, I want to return a text string.

 

Is that possible?

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

Contributor
craigjonnson
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-11-2007
Message 6 of 8 (106 Views)

Re: Lookup table for text

07-21-2014 10:38 PM in reply to: Junereth
I believe that a type catalogue based family would be the way forward for you.
Valued Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 7 of 8 (96 Views)

Re: Lookup table for text

07-22-2014 06:55 AM in reply to: craigjonnson

I aplogize, but that is what I was trying to do. My problem is formatting the header (Parameter Name##Type##Format) properly for text. I think I found the solution though:

 

Parameter_Name##Other

 

Am I correct? I haven't gotten around to testing that out just yet, but it's on my list today.

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 8 (90 Views)

Re: Lookup table for text

07-22-2014 07:53 AM in reply to: smbrennan85

Sorry for the delay of response - I overlooked your post...

 

Anyway, unless it has changed in Revit 2015, Lookup Tables are not capable of returning a Text value. It has trouble with other types of values too, such as Voltage. I used a trick to get around that limitation (Voltage, not the Text) in the thread referenced below.

 

Lookup Table using numbers

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!