Revit MEP

Revit MEP

Reply
Member
RodriguezMEP
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 1 of 3 (717 Views)
Accepted Solution

Link Revit 2013 Architectural Model with Revit MEP 2012

717 Views, 2 Replies
10-01-2012 11:15 AM

So apperently you cannot link a Revit 2013 Architectural Model into Revit 2012 MEP. Is this True? I havent tried to do so myself, but recently an Architect that we work with told us that if he sends us a file in 2013, we will not be able to link it to our 2012, which means we wont be able to use his model at all and we would have to model it ourself.

Is Autodesk making upgrade our REVIT MEP every year?? and this also means that the Architect and MEP Consultant have to be in the same REVIT year software.

 

 

You are correct. You will need to use the version the architect is sending you. If you have R2013 MEP you can upgrade your project from R2012 to R2013, that is done automatically when opening up the project. Otherwise you are stuck and there is nothing you can do. From what I understand this workflow will not change.

Mentor
iam4phils
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎03-07-2008
Message 2 of 3 (710 Views)

Re: Link Revit 2013 Architectural Model with Revit MEP 2012

10-01-2012 11:43 AM in reply to: RodriguezMEP

You are correct. You will need to use the version the architect is sending you. If you have R2013 MEP you can upgrade your project from R2012 to R2013, that is done automatically when opening up the project. Otherwise you are stuck and there is nothing you can do. From what I understand this workflow will not change.

*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 3 of 3 (704 Views)

Re: Link Revit 2013 Architectural Model with Revit MEP 2012

10-01-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: iam4phils

As has already been stated, this is true. I have a couple of valid reasons for Autodesk doing this though:

 

1. There are many features added from release to release. I think conduit and cable tray was ony just added in 2011 for example - 2010 Revit wouldn't even know what those object were.

 

2. Autodesk has hired some really smart people in their marketing department. :smileyhappy:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.