Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
garnerm
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 1 of 10 (311 Views)

Lighting Problem

311 Views, 9 Replies
01-29-2013 01:31 PM

I drop my lights on the grid and the attach find.  My problem is that the lighting is not populating on my schedule to tell me how many foot candles are in the space.  It shows the wattage.  The funny thing is, if I drop in a standard recessed 2x4, then it will, but for this recessed family, it won't.  I assume it has something to do with the family of light fixture I'm using.  I downloaded it from the Manufacturer's website.  See attached family and screen shots to hopefully help.  Any comments or suggestions would be much appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,230
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 10 (304 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

01-29-2013 01:47 PM in reply to: garnerm

I placed several instances of this light fixture into a Space, hosted to a ceiling, my Space Schedule reported an Average Estimated Illumination of 0 fc regardless of the number of fixtures. However, upon opening the Family and changing the Photometric Web File (.ies file) to something else, the schedule began to report result higher than 0 fc. So check out that .ies file, perhaps that's the culprit.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 352
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 3 of 10 (299 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

01-29-2013 02:14 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

What version of Revit are you using? My thought was that the ceiling geometry is blocking the light source. The Room Calculation Point feature would fix that, but that feature was added in 2013.

Active Member
garnerm
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 4 of 10 (296 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

01-29-2013 02:20 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

I tried that numerous times and still nothing.  I actuaclly have the same issue with a couple of other LED downlights from other compnays, one being Cooper.  I have sent an email to Daybrite for help.

 

If anyone knows of another manufacturer's LED recessed downlight and has good results with it, please let me know.  I need something to spec in my model to design with.

Active Member
garnerm
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 5 of 10 (293 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

01-29-2013 02:21 PM in reply to: abulla

I'm running the latest, 2013, i will try that now.... wish me luck!

 

Active Member
garnerm
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 6 of 10 (290 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

01-29-2013 02:27 PM in reply to: abulla

abulla wrote:

What version of Revit are you using? My thought was that the ceiling geometry is blocking the light source. The Room Calculation Point feature would fix that, but that feature was added in 2013.


This didn't solve my problem.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,230
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 7 of 10 (284 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

01-29-2013 02:33 PM in reply to: garnerm

The Room Calculation Point was the first thing I looked at, too. Anyway, check on Autodesk Seek to find a "stand-in" fixture for the meantime.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
bcaudill
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎09-12-2008
Message 8 of 10 (184 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

02-07-2013 08:35 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Are the LOAD CALCULATIONS checked in the electrical settings?

Active Member
garnerm
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 9 of 10 (175 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

02-07-2013 11:08 AM in reply to: bcaudill
Spoiler
 

bcaudill wrote:

Are the LOAD CALCULATIONS checked in the electrical settings?


Yes

Member
whorton-DK
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-26-2011
Message 10 of 10 (154 Views)

Re: Lighting Problem

02-08-2013 09:58 AM in reply to: garnerm

It could be the photometric IES files is using absolute lumen output? Most LED fixtures are only providing absolute lumen files and not the old relative photometry. It is probable the lamplumen value is not provided in the IES which might be how Revit calculates light levels. 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.