Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
bzolla
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 1 of 12 (2,986 Views)
Accepted Solution

Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

2986 Views, 11 Replies
10-29-2012 09:52 PM

Every drawing I try to import an error box "Elements Lost on Import" with the following message "Some elements were lost during import. ActiveX and some proprietary components cannot be imported." And then "Try exploding the file in AutoCAD, or setting PROXYGRAPHICS to 1."

 

When I close that box, another box opens "Revit" with the message "Import detected no valid elements in the file's Model space. Do you want to import from the Paper space?" If I click yes it goes back to the first box, which I then close and takes me back to Revit MEP.

 

I went back to AutoCAD 2013 an opened the drawing, selected and exploded it, and made sure that the PROXYGRAPHICS was set to 1. Save the drawing, closed it and then tried to again to import it into Revit MEP and got the same message boxes.

 

Any ideas?

The 2010 version worked fine linking into Revit 2012 for me.  I would guess the issue you were trying to import a 2013 DWG into 2012 Revit and it was not able to recognise the file format based on a new file format at ACAD 2013.

 

Tested the theory and recieved the same errors you mentioned in your original post.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 12 (2,972 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 05:37 AM in reply to: bzolla

bzolla wrote:

"Every drawing I try to import an error box "Elements Lost on Import" with the following message "Some elements were lost during import. ActiveX and some proprietary components cannot be imported." And then "Try exploding the file in AutoCAD, or setting PROXYGRAPHICS to 1." "


The first error can be caused by certain objects in the DWG file, such as imported images. Try removing all such items. Also, try exploding the all of the blocks and then purging the DWG file. If the error persists, you can post the file here so we can take a look.

 


bzolla wrote:

"When I close that box, another box opens "Revit" with the message "Import detected no valid elements in the file's Model space. Do you want to import from the Paper space?" If I click yes it goes back to the first box, which I then close and takes me back to Revit MEP."


When you import a DWG file into a View, Revit will look at the import's Modelspace first. If you're importing it into a Sheet, it looks at Paperspace first. This error indicates that the objects are simply not in the 'Space' that Revit initially looks for them. This can be either ignored or you can go into the DWG file and cut/paste the object to the correct Space.

 

 

⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗
Welcome to the Autodesk forums, bzolla!
Feel free to post any questions you may have! There are many experienced users here who generously contribute their time and effort to supporting
their peers. This is an open, peer-supported forum, so feel free to contribute any useful information or experiences to any of the topics you see here.
We hope you'll stick around a while and help strengthen the value of this community!
───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Be sure to review the Ground Rules, visit the FAQ Forum, and use the Search feature prior to posting a question, as it's likely been asked before.
⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
sforsberg215
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 3 of 12 (2,957 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: bzolla
Hi I find it easier to link a CAD file than to import it. That's just me, though. Sincerely Scott E Forsberg C: 651-468-4024 Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together. Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890)
Active Member
bzolla
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 4 of 12 (2,948 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 12:11 PM in reply to: bzolla

Thanks Scott

When I tried to link a CAD file I got the same message boxes.

--bz

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 12 (2,944 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: bzolla

sforsberg215 wrote:
"Hi I find it easier to link a CAD file than to import it. That's just me, though..." 
 bzolla wrote:

"Thanks Scott

When I tried to link a CAD file I got the same message boxes."


I believe he was just commenting that it is better practice to "Link" rather than to "Import", which are two different means of bringing in DWG files. Both will follow the same rules and, thus, achieve the same errors. The difference between the two is that Revit will retain a connection the Linked DWG file so that it can by easily updated, while the Imported DWG file is just dumped into the Revit file and has no association with the original file. This is the AutoCAD equivalent of "Attach as an Xref" vs. "Insert as a Block"

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
bzolla
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 6 of 12 (2,939 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Great explanation, totally get it.

Active Member
bzolla
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 7 of 12 (2,928 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 02:20 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thank you for your offer to look at the file. I have tried to purge/explode and can't seem to get it. I am a new Revit user just starting to learn.I have attached the file I am trying to open in Revit.  Really appreciate your help.

--bz

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 12 (2,924 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 02:27 PM in reply to: bzolla

Could you save that file to 2012 format? I have Revit MEP 2013 installed, but not AutoCAD 2013 yet!

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
bzolla
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 9 of 12 (2,905 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 08:01 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

The only option I have is to save it in AutoCAD 2010

Active Contributor
tim.winnington
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 10 of 12 (2,895 Views)

Re: Importing CAD dwg into Revit MEP 2012

10-30-2012 11:25 PM in reply to: bzolla

The 2010 version worked fine linking into Revit 2012 for me.  I would guess the issue you were trying to import a 2013 DWG into 2012 Revit and it was not able to recognise the file format based on a new file format at ACAD 2013.

 

Tested the theory and recieved the same errors you mentioned in your original post.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!