Revit MEP

Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
crigoli
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Message 1 of 5 (545 Views)

HELP! Face based families hosting at an elevation, not the linked model

545 Views, 4 Replies
05-10-2011 02:42 PM

At the start of the project, placing a receptacle on the wall was easy, just how you normally do it.  Now, we I go to place a receptacle, it automatically has it set for "Host: Not Associated" "Elevation: -92'-0"" "Offset: 0'-0""

 

How did this happen? How do I get it back to hosting according to the level and the default elevation that it normally works on? Extremely frustrating...

 

This happened directly after loading a face based receptacle family for floor mounted receptacles.

 

-crigoli

Active Contributor
c.era
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
Message 2 of 5 (424 Views)

Re: HELP! Face based families hosting at an elevation, not the linked model

02-23-2012 09:33 AM in reply to: crigoli

You made sure that your schedule level was the appropriate level, right?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 5 (418 Views)

Re: HELP! Face based families hosting at an elevation, not the linked model

02-23-2012 10:02 AM in reply to: crigoli

While you are placing an element, you can change the Elevation value under properties before you actually place it. Revit should make the inputted value the new default elevation.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
New Member
wikelly1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 4 of 5 (320 Views)

Re: HELP! Face based families hosting at an elevation, not the linked model

11-16-2012 02:34 PM in reply to: crigoli

I am having this exact trouble, where I can set the elevationbefore I place the receptacle, but when I go to the next floor up, it tries to place the receptacle on the floor below.  As an example, on the first floor (elevation 0'0") I place the device using the 1' 6" default elevation.  When I go to do the same on the second floor (elevation 12' 0") the receptacle Default elevation is now -10' 6" and if I place the receptacle I get the warning that none of the placed item are within this view.  If I then go back to the first floor, the receptacle I placed on the second is in the corresponding location on the first floor.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 5 (306 Views)

Re: HELP! Face based families hosting at an elevation, not the linked model

11-19-2012 06:39 AM in reply to: wikelly1

You have to 'reset' the default elevation back to the Family's default, which is accomplished by using the Create Similar command.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.