Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Heating and Cooling Loads - Floor Transmission, thermal and optical properties

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
mrimmer
697 Views, 4 Replies

Heating and Cooling Loads - Floor Transmission, thermal and optical properties

Hi,

I am a beginner with Revit MEP and I tried some HC calculation so please correct me if I'm wrong, but can anyone explain::

- why Revit MEP 2012 does not consider floor transmition in the heating and cooling calculation

- why it is so difficult to change thermal and optical properties of construction (via editing Construction.xml)

- why it is not possible to give thermal and optical properties to walls, floor, windows, etc., that I place to model and calculate with these values

These things make heating and cooling calculation almost unusable.

Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Jrobker
in reply to: mrimmer

This is why nobody uses revit for their heating and cooling loads. Atleast on complicated projects.

"It's hardware that makes a machine fast. It's software that makes a fast machine slow."

Message 3 of 5
mrimmer
in reply to: Jrobker

But it is a pity. Is it really so difficult to test program on real project in cooperation with real HVAC designers? I don't believe it happened.

OK, now when Autodesk knows about the problem, I"m looking forward to patch that fixes this bug and I believe i doesn't take them more than a month of work. Smiley Very Happy

Message 4 of 5
Anonymous

I am not actually sure with my answer thus I am not an expert in this field But I can always ask my uncle because he is working in air-conditioning indianapolis and he is an expert to that field. No need to worry I'll ask him when he gets home.

Message 5 of 5
Anonymous

Hey,