Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
peter57733
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎05-30-2007
Message 1 of 18 (2,169 Views)

Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

2169 Views, 17 Replies
10-31-2013 02:50 PM

Hi,

I Was surfing around the new egg site looking for a suitable up-grade to my Quadro 600 GPU and after an hour of reading and searching I found a Quadro K2000 w/ 2gb memory and supposedly a direct replacement (which is good) Now I am having trouble finding out if this card is Autodesk certified, why I am wanting an upgrade is that when I am revolving a Navisworks 3d view exported from Revit as an FBX file it sticks and moves very slowly while using the view cube to rotate the image, this is a problem because when I record my way through the project and it sticks on me it causes me to have to lengthen my video and I am trying to keep it short (under 4 minutes) so that we can email it to various people if wanted. But that is only a side benefit, we just really want the video to be nice and smooth and not slow down or stop while creating it, any suggestions or comments??

 

Thanks,

Pete

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 2 of 18 (2,096 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

11-04-2013 01:11 PM in reply to: peter57733

There are a number of things that affect performance, and the video card is definitely one of them.

I would also make sure the RAM meets or exceeds the stated requirement on the page below:

System requirements for Autodesk Navisworks products http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS15740409

You can also check the following page for a list of tested cards.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?id=18844534&siteID=123112



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Valued Contributor
peter57733
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎05-30-2007
Message 3 of 18 (2,093 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

11-04-2013 01:43 PM in reply to: peter57733
My system meets the minimum requirements by a lot, I have an Intel i7 processor, 16 gb Ram, Windows 7 Pro., And plenty of leftover hard drive space, my video card is a nvidia Quadro 600. I am thinking because it is an entry level video card it may be my problem, I have been watching my performance on the task manager and I am getting some rather large spikes on the hard drive only, very close together even with all programs closed, Not sure if this is normal or not but I will be doing some looking into it. And the CPU & RAM never really go over ? way except for an occasional spike








Thank you,
Peter Eells
AutoCAD Certified, Electrical Designer and
2013 MEP REVIT Trained
Design Department
[cid:image002.jpg@01CED962.88B1D020]
6724 Lockheed Drive, suite 4 Redding, CA 96002
Phone: (530) 275-3000 ext.110
Fax: (530) 221-2014
petere@unityelectric.com
www.unityelectric.com
Facebook | LinkedIn
Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 4 of 18 (2,060 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

11-08-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: peter57733
From the description, it sounds like upgrading your graphics card could help. Having said that, I would also look for ways to reduce file size and\complexity.

But as I menttioned, when looking for hardware, I would check http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?id=18?844534&siteID=123112 to find the list of tested cards.


Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
New Member
conceptsunlimited
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2012
Message 5 of 18 (1,864 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

01-16-2014 06:37 PM in reply to: peter57733
Hi,
I am experiencing a similar problem with the Revit 2014 and the nvidia Quadro 600 card. How did you end up resolving your issue?
It would be really helpful to hear from you
Thanks
Aimee Carnell
Building Designer
AUS
Valued Contributor
peter57733
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎05-30-2007
Message 6 of 18 (1,850 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

01-17-2014 08:42 AM in reply to: peter57733

 


Hi there,

well the graphics card thing has not been fully resolved, But after talking with our IT guy (finally one that worked in a large design firm) he was telling me that they had problems with the quatro cards and switched to ATI cards and it resolved the issues related to the video cards, You know how it is working in a design firm you find the problem then you have to get quotes and then wait for the budget to bear the cost (almost there) when they tell me to get another card I will get with the IT guy and find out what one is the best one for my system.

 

Pete

 

P.S. I will up date this post when it happens so I can give card type ect.

Member
marcbourton8883
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-05-2012
Message 7 of 18 (1,350 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

04-17-2014 08:40 AM in reply to: peter57733

Which Graphics card did you go for in the end?

Valued Contributor
peter57733
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎05-30-2007
Message 8 of 18 (1,343 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

04-17-2014 09:01 AM in reply to: peter57733

Well you know the old addage Hurry up and wait? well that is exactly what has happened here I had to go to our IT provider and make sure the card I had picked was plug and play with no funny business then get pricing and have it applied to the new budget for this year (not sure if all of that happened yet) but as far as the card goes I selected a quadro K2000 as it was a direct replacement for the card I hav now. So thanks for asking about this as it remindes me that I need to re visit the original request for it.

 

Pete

Valued Contributor
peter57733
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎05-30-2007
Message 9 of 18 (1,342 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

04-17-2014 09:05 AM in reply to: conceptsunlimited

Not resolved yet, The wheels of a company at times grind to a slow really slow pace in this case, still working to get it resolved I chose a Quadro K2000 as it is a direct replacement haven't got it as of yet still hopeful.

 

Pete

Member
marcbourton8883
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-05-2012
Message 10 of 18 (1,333 Views)

Re: Graphics card upgrade for Revit 2014 MEP

04-17-2014 11:00 AM in reply to: peter57733
Basically I have to buy workstation and the ones ive been looking at have on board graphics that on paper are msn enough to but in reality they can't


Sent from Samsung Mobile
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.