Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
dglenn9000
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 1 of 12 (2,226 Views)

Getting room tags to show - Best method

2226 Views, 11 Replies
01-16-2013 10:30 AM

To get room tags to show I usually set revit links to custom and choose the view from the arch model that has the room tags. 

 

Is there an easier method that doesn't involve setting revit links to custom?  

 

I know I could create the room tags for every room myself. Is that the most common way? It seems like creating the rooms in the mep model is a lot of work esp if the arch is constantly changing design. Wouldn't you end up with a lot of coordination alerts as the arch changes design?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,299
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 12 (2,223 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-16-2013 11:15 AM in reply to: dglenn9000

I don't like to set the View to a Linked View, because you cannot move the tags out of the way if they interfere with our design elements. Our method is to use an actual Room Tag and tag the Rooms within the Linked Model. I create a specific View for each floor/level that serves as a 'master' Room Tag View, and then Copy/Paste (aligned to same place) the Room Tags to the other Views as needed. It is a little bit tedious, but not too bad. And regarding the architect changing the design, that would typically mess us up anyway, and moving the Room Tags is easy enough to fix.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 355
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 3 of 12 (2,219 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-16-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

So you guys don't place Spaces at all, just use Room Tags?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,299
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 12 (2,215 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-16-2013 12:28 PM in reply to: abulla

We do, and we use the Space Naming Utility as well. We do require the Space Names for a few things (such as Panel Location on the Panel Schedules). One of the reasons that we like to use the Room Tag is that Spaces seem to get in the way a bit more when doing the design work, especially when modifying ceiling boundaries. (We control the ceiling grids for the purposes of lighting design, and therefore they are created in our MEP model.) Also, we work with a good number of different architects and it convenient to be able to just grab there Room Tag instead of recreating it as a Space Tag. Lazy...

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 355
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 5 of 12 (2,211 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-16-2013 12:34 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Ah got it, makes sense. Also,

 

" (We control the ceiling grids for the purposes of lighting design, and therefore they are created in our MEP model.)"

 

Color me jealous.

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 6 of 12 (2,130 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-22-2013 06:13 AM in reply to: abulla

In older REVIT MEP versions, I believe you had to create spaces first --- then create space tags.  Never version allows you to just place in room tags (shortcut RT).      

*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 355
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 7 of 12 (2,123 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-22-2013 07:03 AM in reply to: Sandleaz

Yes, we're currently debating whether to even place spaces any more if we're not going to try and do heating and cooling loads. The only compelling reason not to that I've heard (thanks CADastrophe) is that Panel Schedules can only read Space Names.

Valued Contributor
dglenn9000
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 8 of 12 (2,117 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-22-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: dglenn9000
I guess it is all dependent on the project size. It makes sense to me if the project is mid size or smaller. My current project 24 floors (17 unique, 7 typical). Not sure if in model room tags would be worth managing. I see pros and cons to both methods. On the other hand, we have a 4 level dormitory that room tags would be easy to manage.

I guess I would prefer if Revit provided a way to link/display room tags from the arch model with revit links set to host insteaded of linked views.









*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,299
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 9 of 12 (2,112 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-22-2013 08:31 AM in reply to: dglenn9000

Well, the major advantage I see to using Space Tags is that you can use the Tag All command on the Spaces. Unfortunately, this command does not "reach into" a linked model to Tag embedded elements, so the Rooms would have to be Tagged manually, or via the "Master View / Copy & Paste" method I previously described.

 

Of course, one would have to make frequent use of the Space Naming Utility. There is another situation we've encountered which involved floor finishes (I haven't any details on this) - for some reason (I believe due to the elevated "floor" of the Room) the Space would not associated with the Room, and thus would not be corrected by the Space Naming Utility. That's another reason to use the Rooms Tags, I suppose. 

 


 

A possible alternate method (which we use to show Room Numbers on demolition sheets) is to create a specific Room Tag View that has every Category hidden except for the Rooms and Room Tags (could be set to a Linked View). This View can be overlaid on top of the plan Viewports on the Sheet Views. Once overlaid, you can select the Room Tag View and hide it by element. This will hide the View Title and make that View unselectable so one cannot accidentally activate that View by mistake.

 

Of course, since a View can only be placed on one Sheet, you would have to Duplicate (as dependent) this View once for each Sheet in which you need to overlay it.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 10 of 12 (2,102 Views)

Re: Getting room tags to show - Best method

01-22-2013 12:12 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

I guess it is all dependent on the project size. It makes sense to me if the project is mid size or smaller.

 

No it doesn't.  It depends on whether you want your drawings to show room tags in good locations or room tags in bad locations.  There's not much work to tag rooms in REVIT ... what about tagging your other pipes/ducts/equipment or having notes?  Do you avoid that as well because there's more work involved.       

 

My current project 24 floors (17 unique, 7 typical). Not sure if in model room tags would be worth managing. I see pros and cons to both methods. On the other hand, we have a 4 level dormitory that room tags would be easy to manage.

 

Do you care how your drawings turn out?


I guess I would prefer if Revit provided a way to link/display room tags from the arch model with revit links set to host insteaded of linked views.

 

Again, are you going to work around how the architect's views work, where the architect's room tags are?  Are you going to locate your pipes/ducts/equipment to not be in conflict with the architect's room tags?  What if the architect deletes their views you're linking?  Are you going to blame the architect for that?  Or are you simply going to force the architect to make the views in their architectural file(s) to fit your needs and harrass the architect about putting room tags in correct locations?  

 

  

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.